Mental Health Resource Centre

mother kissing child's forehead
​​​​​​

Wellbeing

Show articles

​The everyday pressures of growing up can put a strain on any child's mental wellbeing. Find out how physical activity, a healthy sleep routine, screen time limits and balanced nutrition can boost your child's mental health and support them through difficult times.

Anxiety disorders

Show articles

Every child feels anxiety at some point as a natural part of growing up. An anxiety disorder, however, is when anxious feelings interfere with a child's everyday routine. Learn more about the signs, symptoms and range of anxiety disorders and how they ​are treated.

Obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD)

Show articles

Obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) occurs when a person suffers from troubling and intrusive thoughts and/or follows repetitive or strict routines to feel less worried. Learn about the causes, signs and impact of this disorder and how you can help your child.

Depression

Show articles

Depression is an illness that causes someone to feel deep sadness or a lack of interest in activities that they once enjoyed. Discover how this condition affects a child's mood, sleep, concentration and energy levels, and how it can be treated.

Bipolar disorder

Show articles

When a person has bipolar disorder, they alternate between low and elevated moods for days, weeks or months at a time. Learn about the bipolar disorder spectrum, the symptoms of manic and depressive episodes and how medications, therapy and lifestyle changes can help.

Suicide and self-harm

Show articles

A child who experiences thoughts of suicide or self-harm is often suffering from overwhelming emotional pain. Find out how to help your child cope with difficult emotions, how to support and protect your child and where to find professional help.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Eating disorders

Show articles

An eating disorder not only risks your child's health but can also disrupt family life. Find out about the symptoms and treatment of anorexia, bulimia, avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder and binge eating disorder and how you can help your child recover.

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

Show articles

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) involves difficulties with controlling attention and regulating behaviour. Discover the main symptoms of ADHD in children and teens, how the disorder is diagnosed and how to help your child at home and at school.

Behavioural disorders

Show articles

Behavioural disorders include oppositional defiant disorder and conduct disorder. Learn how these disorders differ from typical misbehaviour, how therapy and medications can help and how you can manage problematic behaviour at home. 

Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Show articles

Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is triggered by experiencing or witnessing a terrifying event. Learn about the main symptoms of PTSD, how the condition is diagnosed and how psychotherapy and medications can help your child.

Brain disorders and mental health

Show articles

A brain disorder includes a condition, illness or injury that affects the brain and how it develops before or after birth. Find out how a brain disorder can affect your child's learning, mood and social skills, how its impact on mental health is assessed and how to help your child cope. 

​​​​​​​​
 


    Notes:

Centre de documentation en santé mentale

mother kissing child's forehead
​​​​​​​​​​​

Bien-être

Montrer l'article

​Les pressions de la vie quotidienne pendant la croissance d’un enfant peuvent mettre à l'épreuve sa santé mentale. Découvrez comment l’activité physique, de bonnes habitudes de sommeil, des limites au temps passé devant un écran et une alimentation équilibrée peuvent stimuler la santé mentale de votre enfant et l'aider à traverser les périodes difficiles.

Les troubles anxieux

Montrer l'article

Tout enfant éprouvera de l’anxiété à un moment ou à un autre car cela fait partie intégrante du développement. Toutefois, un trouble anxieux se manifeste lquand il affecte le quotidien. Apprenez-en davantage sur les signes, les symptômes et le spectre des troubles anxieux et de leur traitement.

Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Montrer l'article

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) se produit lorsqu’une personne souffre de pensées inquiétantes et intrusives et/ou suit des habitudes répétitives ou strictes pour être moins inquiète. En savoir plus sur les causes, les symptômes et les conséquences de ce trouble et comment vous pouvez aider votre enfant.

Dépression

Montrer l'article

La dépression est une maladie qui se manifeste par un sentiment de profonde tristesse ou un manque d'intérêt pour des activités qu'on aimait faire auparavant. Découvrez comment cette condition affecte l'humeur de l'enfant, le sommeil, la concentration et les niveaux d'énergie, et comment cela peut être traité.

Trouble bipolaire

Montrer l'article

Le trouble bipolaire entraîne une​ alternance entre les humeurs faibles et élevées pendant des jours, des semaines ou des mois. Découvrez le spectre du trouble bipolaire, les symptômes des épisodes maniaques et dépressifs et comment les médicaments, la thérapie et les changements de style de vie peuvent aider.

Le suicide et l'automutilation

Montrer l'article

Il arrive souvent qu’un enfant qui a des pensées suicidaires ou d'automutilation soit en même temps sous l’emprise d’une souffrance émotive envahissante. Apprenez comment aider votre enfant à composer avec des émotions perturbatrices, comment lui apporter du soutien et le protéger et où vous adresser pour obtenir de l’aide professionnelle.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Les troubles de l’alimentation

Montrer l'article

Les troubles de l’alimentation peuvent non seulement comporter des risques pour la santé de votre enfant mais aussi perturber votre vie familiale. Renseignez-vous sur les symptômes et la prise en charge de l’anorexie, de la boulimie, du trouble d’alimentation sélective et/ou d’évitement et de l’hyperphagie boulimique, et comment aider votre enfant.

Trouble de déficit de l’attention et hyperactivité (TDAH)

Montrer l'article

Le trouble de déficit de l’attention et hyperactivité (TDAH) est lié à des difficultés de régulation de l’attention et de maîtrise du comportement. Découvrez les principaux symptômes du TDAH chez les enfants et les adolescents, comment la maladie est diagnostiquée et comment aider votre enfant à la maison et à l’école.

​​Les troubles du comportement

Montrer l'article

Les troubles de comportement comprennent le trouble oppositionnel avec provocation et le trouble des conduites. Apprenez comment ces problèmes diffèrent de l’inconduite typique, comment la thérapie et les médicaments peuvent aider à les atténuer et comment vous pouvez gérer un comportement problématique à la maison.

Trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT)

Montrer l'article

Le trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT) est directement lié à l’observation ou à l’expérience d’un événement terrifiant. Découvrez-en les symptômes principaux et apprenez comment le problème est diagnostiqué et comment la psychothérapie et les médicaments peuvent aider votre enfant.

Les troubles du cerveau et la santé mentale

Montrer l'article

Un trouble du cerveau est un problème médical, une maladie ou une blessure qui perturbe le cerveau et qui se développe avant ou après la naissance. Découvrez comment il peut compromettre l’apprentissage, l’humeur et les aptitudes sociales de votre enfant, comment en sont évaluées les conséquences sur sa santé mentale et comment l’aider à s’adapter.

​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
2/16/2016







    www.aboutkidshealth.ca