Bladder Augmentation

What is bladder augmentation?

A bladder augmentation (say: ogg-men-TAY-shun) is an operation to make the bladder bigger. A bigger bladder means it will be easier for your child to store and hold urine (pee). To make the bladder bigger, surgeons will remove a small piece of your child's bowel and attach it to the top of the bladder.

How the urinary system works

Urinary System (Female)
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-Urinary_female_MED_ILL_EN-UNIQUE2-

The urinary system gets rid of waste from the body. Two kidneys filter the body's blood. The waste made by your kidneys is called urine or pee. Urine travels from the kidneys to the bladder through a tube called a ureter. There is one ureter for each kidney.

The bladder is a muscular bag that can stretch to hold urine. A strong muscle at the bottom of the bladder stops the urine from coming out until you are ready to use the toilet. This muscle is called a sphincter. When the bladder is full, it sends a message to the brain, telling it that it is time to go pee. Then the sphincter relaxes and sends the pee out through the urethra. The urethra is the opening either at the tip of the penis (in boys) or above the vagina (in girls).

When a child has a small bladder

Because your child's bladder is so small, it fills very quickly and sends messages to the brain more often than normal. As your child's bladder fills up, pressure also builds up in the bladder. This pressure can make it hard for your child to hold the pee in. Your child's bladder needs more room so that it can store urine for a longer time.

Talk to your child about the operation

Once you have read this page and have spoken to the doctors about your child's operation, speak to your child. Using words that he or she will understand, explain what the surgery is for and what is going to happen. When children know what to expect, they are usually less anxious and more cooperative.

Many hospitals have pre-admission programs meant for children. These programs let parents and kids know what to expect. It is a good idea for parents and children to participate in these programs before any operation. Ask the nurse at the urology clinic about these types of programs for children.

Preparing the bowel before the operation

Your child's bowel needs to be as clean as possible before the surgery. This preparation takes about 3 days. Most families choose to do the first 2 days at home and then come to the hospital for the last day. A urology nurse will meet with you to describe how to prepare the bowel at home.

Eating and drinking

For 2 to 3 days before the operation, your child should only have clear fluids to drink. Clear fluids are liquids you can see through, like water, apple juice, ginger ale, Sprite, Jello, and freezies. Your child cannot have anything else to eat or drink.

Write the date of your child's operation here:

Write the date your child must start having only clear fluids here:

Enemas

Your child will need to have several enemas. An enema means that a small tube is put into your child's anus and water is flushed inside. Then, your child will go to the bathroom and expel the water and feces (poo) from the bowel. Usually, enemas are a bit uncomfortable but they do not hurt.

Coming to the hospital

On the day before the surgery, your child will come to hospital and be admitted to the unit. The nurses will keep on preparing your child's bowel for the operation. They may give your child laxatives and enemas to clean out the bowel.

Your child will also get an intravenous (IV) tube in the arm while he is in hospital. This is used to give your child liquids, foods, and medicine.

Before the operation

The nurse will take a small amount of blood from a vein in your child's arm, using a small needle. If your child is afraid of needles, you can encourage them to do deep breathing. This will help your child stay calm and it will reduce pain.

Your child will have a special "sleep medicine" called a general anesthetic before the operation. This will make sure that your child will sleep and feel no pain during the operation.

During the operation

The operation takes between about 3 to 7 hours. It depends what kind of operation the surgeon uses. The surgeon will explain this to you before the operation.

After the operation

Your child is taken to the Post-Anesthetic Care Unit, or the hospital's recovery room. In a few hours, your child will become more awake. Then he or she will be taken to the urology unit.

Your child will have an IV tube in the arm. This lets the doctors and nurses give your child liquids, food, and medicine. Your child will not be eating through the mouth for about a week. This gives your child's bladder and bowel time to heal.

Your child will also have a nasogastric (NG) tube. An NG tube is a small hose that is put into your child's stomach through the nose. The tube keeps your child's stomach empty. Your child will still be able to breathe normally while the NG tube is in place. After a few days, the tube is removed and your child can start eating by mouth again.

Your child will have some stitches on his or her tummy. The stitches keep the incision site closed so it can heal. The incision site is where the doctors cut the skin to do the operation.

Your child will also have a few tubes on his or her tummy. These may include a suprapubic catheter, a foley catheter, and a Penrose drain. The foley catheter and the Penrose drain will be removed before your child goes home. The suprapubic catheter will be removed later at a follow-up appointment at the urology clinic.

Pain management after the operation

Your child's tummy will be sore after the operation. Pain medications will be given as needed. If you see your child in pain, please speak to the nurse about pain medication.

You can help your child cope with pain by using deep breathing and by distracting your child. Ask the nurse how you can help. Your child will have to stay in the hospital for a few days. A child life specialist can help keep your child busy with toys and games.

While your child is in bed, it is important to exercise the lungs. One way is to take slow, deep breaths and then cough. Your nurse will show your child how to do this.

Learning to use the bladder again

After the operation, your child will have a tube called a suprapubic catheter. This takes urine (pee) from your child's bladder to the outside of the body. It will be taken out when your child is comfortable peeing or self-catheterizing.

Sometimes after the operation, your child's urine may have some mucus in it. Mucus looks white and thick, and it may block the suprapubic catheter. To keep the suprapubic catheter clear, you will need to irrigate your child's catheter every day. Your nurse will show you how to do this before your child goes home.

After a few days, your child will be able to start peeing normally again. At first, your child may not have full control of his or her bladder. Your child may also have bladder spasms and cramping. If this becomes a problem, your child may need to take medicine to reduce these symptoms.

Sometimes your child's bladder will need help to empty properly. This is done with a small tube, called a catheter, that is put through the urethra into the bladder to drain the urine. This is called self-catheterizing. Your nurse will explain how to do this.

Going home after about a week

When your child is well enough, he or she can to go home from the hospital. You will need to bring your child back to the hospital for a follow-up appointment. If you are not given a date for this appointment, please ask the nurse.

Write down the date and time of the appointment here:

 

Key points

  • Bladder augmentation is a surgery to make the bladder bigger, using a piece of your child's bowel.
  • Before the operation, the bowel must be as clean as possible. This will take a few days to do.
  • After the operation, your child will stay in the hospital for a few days.
  • It may take a little while for your child to learn to control his or her peeing.

Cathy Daniels, RN, MS, ACNP

Dalia Bozic, RN, BScN

11/6/2009

At SickKids:

Supporting your child

When preparing your child for an operation, the urology team recommends that whenever possible, your child and family members attend the Pre-Admission Program offered at SickKids​.

A Child Life Specialist can also help to prepare and support your child if he or she is anxious about the operation.

Useful websites

www.sickkids.ca

www.aboutkidshealth.ca

www.cua.org

Related Articles
Bladder Augmentation




Notes:

Augmentation de la vessie

En quoi consiste l’augmentation de la vessie?

L’augmentation de la vessie est une opération qui vise à augmenter la taille de la vessie afin que votre enfant puisse plus facilement emmagasiner une plus grande quantité d’urine. Pour augmenter la taille de la vessie, les chirurgiens retireront une petite partie de l’intestin de votre enfant et la fixeront au haut de la vessie.

Fonctionnement du système urinaire

Système urinaire (féminin)
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-Urinary_female_MED_ILL_FR-UNIQUE2-

Le système urinaire sert à évacuer les déchets du corps. Deux reins filtrent le sang du corps et les déchets qui en résultent constituent l’urine. L’urine circule des reins vers la vessie par un tube appelé l’uretère. Chaque rein possède un uretère.

La vessie est une poche musculaire extensible qui contient l’urine. Un muscle fort situé au bas de la vessie empêche l’urine de s’écouler jusqu’au moment de se soulager. Ce muscle s’appelle le sphincter. Une fois pleine, la vessie envoie un message au cerveau, lui indiquant le besoin d’uriner. Le sphincter se relâche alors et évacue l’urine par l’urètre. L’urètre désigne l’ouverture située soit à l’extrémité du pénis chez les garçons, soit au-dessus du vagin chez les filles.

Que se passe-t-il lorsqu’un enfant a une petite vessie

Lorsqu’un enfant à une petite vessie, elle se remplit rapidement et envoie des messages au cerveau plus souvent qu’en temps normal. Lorsque la vessie de l’enfant se remplit, la pression augmente dans la vessie. Cette pression peut entraîner une difficulté pour l’enfant à se retenir d’uriner. La vessie de votre enfant a besoin de plus d’espace pour pouvoir contenir plus d’urine pendant plus longtemps.

Discutez avec votre enfant de l’opération

Une fois que vous aurez lu cette page d’information et que vous aurez discuté avec les médecins de l’opération pour votre enfant, parlez-en avec lui. Utilisez des mots qu’il pourra comprendre et expliquez-lui en quoi consiste l’opération et ce qui va se produire. Lorsqu’un enfant sait à quoi s’attendre, il est habituellement moins inquiet et coopère mieux.

De nombreux hôpitaux possèdent des programmes avant hospitalisation destinés aux enfants. Ces programmes servent à informer les parents et les enfants sur les événements qui suivront. On recommande aux parents et aux enfants de participer à ces programmes avant une opération. Renseignez-vous sur ce type de programmes pour les enfants auprès d’une infirmière de la clinique d’urologie.

Préparation des intestins avant l’opération

Les intestins de votre enfant doivent être aussi vides que possible avant la chirurgie. Une telle préparation prend environ trois (3) jours. La plupart des familles choisissent de passer les deux premiers jours de préparation à la maison, puis le dernier jour à l’hôpital. Une infirmière en urologie vous rencontrera pour vous expliquer comment vous préparer à la maison.

Manger et boire

À partir de deux ou trois jours avant l’opération, votre enfant ne devrait consommer que des liquides clairs. Les liquides clairs sont des liquides translucides, tels que l’eau, le jus de pomme, le Ginger Ale (Canada Dry), le Sprite, le Jell-o et les sucettes glacées (glaces à l'eau). Votre enfant ne pourra rien manger ou boire d’autre.

Inscrivez ici la date prévue de l’opération de votre enfant :

Inscrivez ici la date à laquelle votre enfant doit commencer à ne consommer que des liquides clairs :

Lavements

Votre enfant devra subir plusieurs lavements. Cela signifie qu’un petit tube sera inséré dans l’anus de votre enfant pour y injecter de l’eau. Votre enfant devra ensuite aller à la toilette pour évacuer l’eau et les matières fécales de ses intestins. Habituellement, les lavements sont un peu inconfortables, mais ils ne font pas mal.

Arrivée à l’hôpital

La veille de la chirurgie, votre enfant devra se présenter à l’hôpital pour son hospitalisation. Les infirmières continueront la préparation des intestins de votre enfant en vue de l’opération. Elles lui feront peut-être prendre des laxatifs ou lui feront des lavements pour nettoyer ses intestins.

Les infirmières installeront également dans le bras de votre enfant une perfusion intraveineuse (IV) qu’il gardera pendant son séjour à l’hôpital. Cette perfusion servira à lui injecter des liquides, de la nourriture et de médicaments.

Avant l’opération

Une infirmière prélèvera grâce à une petite aiguille, une petite quantité de sang d’une veine du bras de votre enfant. Si votre enfant a peur des piqûres, vous pouvez l’aider en lui recommandant de respirer profondément. Cela le calmera et réduira la douleur.

Avant l’opération, votre enfant recevra un médicament pour l’endormir appelé « anesthésie générale ». Cela permet de s’assurer que votre enfant dormira et ne ressentira aucune douleur pendant l'opération.

Pendant l’opération

L’opération dure 3 à 7 heures selon le type d’intervention que le chirurgien choisira d’utiliser. Le chirurgien vous expliquera son choix avant l’opération.

Après l’opération

Votre enfant sera conduit dans l’unité de soins postanesthésiques, ou salle de réveil, de l’hôpital. Après quelques heures, votre enfant commencera à se réveiller. Il sera alors transféré à l’unité d’urologie.

Votre enfant sera sous perfusion IV afin que les médecins et les infirmières puissent lui administrer des liquides, de la nourriture et des médicaments. Il ne mangera pas par la bouche pendant environ une semaine, le temps que ses intestins et sa vessie guérissent.

Votre enfant aura également une sonde nasogastrique, c’est-à-dire, un petit tube qui passe par le nez pour se rendre à l’estomac. Ce tube permet de s’assurer que l’estomac de l’enfant demeure vide. Il pourra toutefois respirer normalement malgré la présence de la sonde. Après quelques jours, la sonde sera retirée et votre enfant commencera de nouveau à s’alimenter par la bouche.

Votre enfant aura quelques points de suture sur le ventre pour fermer l’incision et lui permettre de guérir. L’incision correspond à l’endroit où le médecin aura coupé la peau pour pratiquer l’opération.

Votre enfant aura également quelques tubes sur son ventre, dont un cathéter sus-pubien, une sonde de Foley et un drain de Penrose. La sonde de Foley et le drain de Penrose seront retirés avant que votre enfant ne rentre à la maison. Le cathéter sus-pubien sera retiré plus tard, lord d’un examen de suivi à la clinique d’urologie.

Gestion de la douleur après l’opération

Votre enfant aura mal au ventre après l’opération. Des médicaments anti-douleurs (analgésiques) lui seront administrés au besoin. Si vous voyez que votre enfant souffre, discutez avec l’infirmière au sujet des analgésiques.

Vous pouvez aider votre enfant à maîtriser la douleur en le faisant respirer profondément et en le distrayant. Demandez à l’infirmière comment vous pouvez aider votre enfant. Il devra demeurer à l’hôpital pendant quelques jours. Un éducateur en mileu pédiatrique pourra aider votre enfant à s’occuper en lui procurant des jeux et des jouets.

Pendant que votre enfant est au lit, il est important qu’il exerce ses poumons. Une façon consiste à respirer lentement et profondément, puis à tousser. Une infirmière montrera à votre enfant comment faire.

Apprendre à utiliser de nouveau sa vessie

Après l’opération, votre enfant aura un tube appelé cathéter sus-pubien qui permet d’évacuer l'urine. Ce cathéter sera retiré une fois que votre enfant pourra uriner confortablement ou qu’il pourra effectuer une autocathéterisation.

Parfois, après l’opération, l’urine de votre enfant peut contenir du mucus. Le mucus est blanc et épais, et il peut bloquer le cathéter sus-pubien. Pour éviter que le cathéter se bloque, il faudra irriguer le cathéter tous les jours. L’infirmière vous montrera comment faire avant que votre enfant ne quitte l’hôpital.

Après quelques jours, votre enfant pourra à nouveau uriner normalement. Au début, il n’aura peut-être pas un contrôle complet de sa vessie. Il aura peut-être des spasmes ou des crampes. Si cette situation devient problématique, il faudra peut-être lui prescrire certains médicaments pour réduire ces symptômes.

Parfois, il faut aider votre enfant à vider complètement sa vessie. Cela se fait à l’aide d’un petit tube appelé un cathéter qui est inséré par l’urètre jusque dans la vessie pour évacuer toute l’urine qui s’y trouve. C’est ce qu’on appelle une autocathéterisation. L’infirmière vous expliquera comment procéder.

Retour à la maison après environ une semaine

Lorsque votre enfant le pourra, il quittera l’hôpital. Il devra cependant y revenir pour un examen de suivi. Si vous n’avez pas reçu de date pour ce rendez-vous, assurez-vous d’en parler avec l’infirmière.

Inscrivez ici la date et l’heure de votre rendez-vous :


À retenir

  • L’augmentation de la vessie est une chirurgie qui permet d’élargir la vessie à l’aide d’une section de l’intestin de votre enfant.
  • Avant l’opération, l’intestin doit être aussi propre que possible. Cela prend quelques jours.
  • Après l’opération, votre enfant restera à l’hôpital quelques jours.
  • Votre enfant aura besoin d’un peu de temps afin d’apprendre comment contrôler sa vessie.

Cathy Daniels, RN, MS, ACNP

Dalia Bozic, RN, BScN

11/6/2009

À l’hôpital SickKids :

Pour aider votre enfant

Pour préparer votre enfant à subir une opération, les membres de l’équipe d’urologie recommandent autant que possible que votre enfant et les membres de votre famille participent au programme avant hospitalisation offert par l’hôpital.

Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, composez le 416-813-6150 ou consultez le site Web à l’adresse www.sickkids.ca.

Un spécialiste pour les enfants peut aussi vous aider à préparer votre enfant et à l’encadrer s’il a des inquiétudes au sujet de l’opération.

Sites Web utiles

www.sickkids.ca

www.aboutkidshealth.ca

www.cua.org

Articles associés
Augmentation de la vessie