Voiding Cystourethrogram (VCUG)

What is a VCUG?

A VCUG is a special test that uses X-rays to show what happens when your child urinates (pees).

Urinary System (Female)
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-Urinary_female_MED_ILL_EN-UNIQUE2-

VCUG is short for "voiding cystourethrogram." "Voiding" means urinating. "Cysto" stands for the bladder. "Urethro" stands for the urethra, the tube that empties urine from the bladder. "Gram" means the picture. So the VCUG is a picture of the urine moving from the bladder and out through the urethra.

The test uses a special liquid called contrast medium to make the urine show up better on the X-ray.

Preparing your child for the test

Take time to read this information carefully and explain it to your child. Children who know what to expect are usually less anxious. Explain the test in words you know your child will understand, including the words your family uses to describe how the body works.

As part of the test, a small tube called a catheter will be placed in your child's urethra. Placing the catheter will be uncomfortable. But your child will find it more comfortable if he or she can relax. You can help your child relax by teaching him or her to take slow deep breaths. Have your child pretend to blow out birthday candles, blow up a balloon, or blow bubbles. Practise this breathing exercise at home before you come to the hospital.

Young children sometimes want to bring something comfortable to hold during the test. Your child may want to bring a stuffed toy or a blanket from home.

One parent can be with the child at all times during the test. If you are pregnant, you can stay in the room while the catheter is being placed. But you must leave the room when your child has the X-ray.

You may want to explain to your child that the doctors or technologists will need to touch you child's private parts to clean them and to place the catheter. Explain to your child that you have given them permission to touch him or her because the test will help the child.

Two technologists will perform the test

The technologists are specially trained to place the catheter and to take the X-rays. Sometimes the radiologist must also be in the room during the test. The radiologist reads the X-ray.

Urinary System (Male)
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-Urinary_male_MED_ILL_EN-UNIQUE2-

The X-ray technologist will prepare your child for the test by explaining what will happen. The technologist will carefully wash your child's penis or the opening to the urethra. Then the technologist will place a bendable catheter into the opening. The catheter is a long, thin, soft tube that goes through the urethra to the bladder. The technologist will explain each step as he or she does it.

If your child has a heart condition

Your child may need to take antibiotics before having any test or treatment. For example, children with heart conditions need to take antibiotics before going to the dentist. An antibiotic is a medicine that kills infection. If your child needs this medicine, please tell the doctor who wants your child to have a VCUG. The doctor will get this medicine for your child before he or she has the VCUG.

VCUGs are usually done at the hospital

VCUGs are done in the Department of Diagnostic Imaging, often called the X-ray department. If you are unsure about the location of the department, ask at the main reception.

The test takes between 20 and 30 minutes. After the test, you will need to stay in the department for about 15 minutes while the images are prepared.

During the test

After you check into the Department of Diagnostic Imaging, your child will change into a hospital gown in one of the change rooms. Then your child will be taken into the X-ray room. Only one parent can go with the child.

In the X-ray room

Once you and your child are in the X-ray room, the technologist will ask you to remove your child's underwear or diaper. Then your child will lie on an X-ray table. A safety band may be placed across your child's stomach or legs to make sure your child is safe.

A camera above the table will take the pictures. The technologist will use a television screen to see what is happening during the test.

To get the best results, your child must lie as still as possible while the technologist takes the X-rays. You can help your child by holding hands gently up by your child's chest and by keeping your child's attention any way you can. For example, you could read or sing.

Placing the catheter

The X-ray technologist will begin the test by cleaning your child's private parts and placing the catheter. The catheter will make the bladder empty by itself.

The catheter will then be connected by a tube to a bottle filled with contrast medium. This contrast medium flows through the tube into the bladder. It lets the technologist get a better view of the inside of the bladder and urethra. Your child may feel the contrast as it goes through the bladder. It may feel cool, but it will not feel uncomfortable.

While the contrast medium is flowing into the bladder, the X-ray technologist will take some X-rays. When your child's bladder is full, your child will be asked to urinate into a bedpan or diaper. The catheter will come out easily by itself as your child urinates. The technologist will take some X-rays while your child is urinating. These are the most important pictures of the test.

Once your child has finished urinating and the pictures have been taken, the test is finished. The X-ray technologist will help your child off the table and make sure that he or she is clean and dry.

After the test is done

The X-ray technologist will tell you how to get to the change room where your child can change into his or her own clothes. Then you can have a seat in the waiting room. The technologist will let you know when you can leave after the X-ray images have been checked.

If you have an appointment in the clinic to see the doctor after the test, please tell the technologist. They will make sure your results are sent to the clinic. If you are not seeing the doctor after the test, the results will be sent to your child's doctor within a week.

Give your child lots of clear fluids at home

Your child may feel some discomfort, such as a burning feeling, when urinating for the first few times after the test. Over the next day or so, give your child lots of clear liquids such as water or apple juice. Drinking clear liquids will help ease any discomfort your child may have.

If you have any questions about the effects of the test, please ask the technologist. If your child is uncomfortable for more than 24 hours, call your family doctor.

Key points

  • A VCUG is a test that uses X-ray to see what is happening when your child pees.
  • During the test, a child will have a urinary catheter put into his or her urethra.
  • The test can be uncomfortable. You can help your child be as comfortable as possible by practicing relaxation exercises at home before the test.

Dawn-Ann Lebarron, MRT(R)
Deborah Kerrigan, RPN

11/10/2009

At SickKids:

VCUGs are done in the Department of Diagnostic Imaging, often called the X-ray department. This department is on the second floor in the Elm Street Wing in the older part of the hospital.

Please check in with the receptionist at the desk called the GI/GU Patient Check In. You will find this desk beside the Elm Wing elevators on the second floor.

If you need to cancel your child's test, please call 416-813-6068 as soon as possible. We need to give your child's appointment to another child on our waiting list. There is a long waiting list for these tests.

 




Notes:

print article

Cysto-urétrogramme pendant la miction (CUM)

Qu’est-ce qu’un CUM?

Un CUM est un examen spécial qui utilise la radiographie pour montrer ce qui se passe quand votre enfant urine.

Système urinaire (féminin)
Get Adobe Flash player

L’acronyme CUM signifie cysto-urétrogramme pendant la miction. La miction est l’acte d’uriner, et le terme « cysto » désigne la vessie. Le terme « urétro » signifie urètre, le tube qui vide la vessie, et le terme « gramme » signifie image. Le terme CUM désigne donc une image de l’urine qui se déplace de la vessie vers l’extérieur par l’urètre.

On utilise un liquide spécial appelé agent de contraste pour que l’urine se voie bien sur la radiographie.

Préparer votre enfant pour l'examen

Prenez le temps de lire ces renseignements attentivement. Les enfants qui savent à quoi s’attendre sont habituellement moins nerveux. Expliquez-les à votre enfant en vous servant de mots qu’il peut comprendre, y compris les mots dont votre famille se sert pour désigner les fonctions du corps.

Pendant l'examen, un petit tube appelé cathéter sera placé dans l’urètre de votre enfant, ce qui sera inconfortable. Votre enfant trouvera cependant l’expérience plus confortable s’il peut se détendre. Vous pouvez enseigner à votre enfant comment se détendre en prenant de longues respirations profondes. Demandez-lui de faire semblant de souffler des chandelles, dans un ballon ou faire des bulles. Exercez-vous à faire ce genre de respiration à la maison avant de venir à l’hôpital.

Les jeunes enfants veulent parfois apporter quelque chose de familier pendant l'examen, comme un jouet en peluche ou une couverture.

Un parent peut accompagner l’enfant en tout temps pendant l'examen. Si vous êtes enceinte, vous pouvez rester dans la pièce pendant l’installation du cathéter, mais vous devrez sortir quand l’enfant subit une radiographie.

Il serait bon d’expliquer à votre enfant que les médecins ou technologue de radiologie (manipulateurs radio) devront toucher ses parties intimes pour les nettoyer et placer le cathéter. Expliquez-lui que vous leur avez donné la permission de le faire, car l'examen est pour son bien

Deux technologues feront l'examen

Les technologue sont formés spécialement pour placer le cathéter et prendre les radiographies. Parfois, le radiologue doit aussi être dans la pièce pendant l'examen. C’est lui qui interprètera les radiographies.

Système urinaire (masculin)
Get Adobe Flash player

Le technologue en radiographie préparera votre enfant pour l'examen en expliquant ce qui se passera. Le technologue nettoiera le pénis de votre enfant ou l’ouverture de l’urètre. Il placera ensuite un cathéter flexible dans l’ouverture. Le cathéter est un long tube mince et souple installé dans l’urètre qui se rend jusqu’à la vessie. Le technologue expliquera chaque étape au fur et à mesure.

Si votre enfant a une maladie cardiaque

Votre enfant pourrait devoir prendre des antibiotiques avant tout test ou traitement. Par exemple, les enfants atteints de maladies cardiaques doivent prendre des antibiotiques avant d’aller chez le dentiste. Un antibiotique est un médicament qui tue les infections. Si votre enfant a besoin de ce médicament, dites-le au médecin qui prescrit la CUM. Le médecin prescrira le médicament avant la CUM.

Les CUM sont habituellement faits à l’hôpital

Les CUM se font au département d’imagerie diagnostique, souvent appelé le département de radiographie. Si vous ne savez pas où se trouve le département, demandez à l’accueil.

L'examen prend de 20 à 30 minutes. Après le test, vous devrez rester dans le département pendant environ 15 minutes, le temps que l’on prépare les images.

Pendant le test

Après votre enregistrement au département d’imagerie diagnostique, votre enfant mettra une chemise d’hôpital dans l’une des cabines. Votre enfant sera ensuite conduit vers la salle de radiographie. Un parent seul peut l’y accompagner.

Dans la salle de radiographie

Une fois que votre enfant et vous êtes dans la salle, le technologue vous demandera de retirer les sous-vêtements ou la couche de votre enfant, qui se couchera ensuite sur la table. Une courroie de sécurité pourrait être placée sur le ventre ou les jambes de votre enfant pour sa sécurité.

Une caméra située au-dessus de la table prendra les images. Le technologue utilisera un téléviseur pour voir ce qui se passe pendant l'examen.

Pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles, votre enfant doit rester aussi immobile que possible pendant que le technologue le radiographie. Vous pouvez aider votre enfant en lui tenant doucement les mains sur son thorax et en le distrayant comme vous le pouvez. Vous pouvez lui faire la lecture ou chanter, par exemple.

Mise en place du cathéter

Le technologue commencera le test en nettoyant les parties génitales de votre enfant et en plaçant le cathéter. Le cathéter videra la vessie.

Le cathéter sera ensuite branché par un tube à une bouteille remplie d’agent de contraste. Cet agent circule dans le tube jusqu’à la vessie. Il permet au technologue de bien voir l’intérieur de la vessie et de l’urètre. Votre enfant pourrait sentir l’agent de contraste à mesure qu’il circule dans la vessie. Le liquide pourrait être froid, mais ce n’est pas inconfortable.

Pendant que l’agent de contraste circule dans la vessie, le technologue en radiographie prendra des images. Quand la vessie sera pleine, on demandera à votre enfant d’uriner dans une bassine ou une couche. Le cathéter sortira de lui-même quand votre enfant urinera. Le technologue prendra des radiographies pendant que votre enfant urine. Ce sont les images les plus importantes de l'examen.

Une fois que votre enfant a fini d’uriner et que les images sont prises, l'examen est terminé. Le technologue aidera votre enfant à se lever et à s’assurer qu’il est propre et sec.

Après l'examen

Le technologue vous dira comment vous rendre aux cabines où votre enfant pourra se changer, et vous pourrez ensuite vous assoir dans la salle d’attente. Le technologue vous dira quand vous pourrez sortir après que les radiographies auront été examinées.

Si vous avez un rendez-vous à la clinique après l'examen, dites-le au technologue. Il fera en sorte que les résultats soient envoyés à la clinique. Si vous ne voyez pas le médecin après le test, les résultats seront envoyés au médecin de votre enfant dans la semaine.

Donnez beaucoup de liquides clairs à votre enfant à la maison

Votre enfant pourrait ressentir une gêne, comme une sensation de brûlure, quand il urinera les premières fois après l'examen. Au cours de la journée suivante, donnez beaucoup de liquides clairs à votre enfant, comme de l’eau ou du jus de pomme. Le fait de boire des liquides clairs aidera à soulager l’inconfort à la miction.

Si vous avez des questions sur les effets de l'examen, posez-les au technologue. Si votre enfant est male pendant plus de 24 heures, appelez votre médecin de famille.

À retenir

  • Un CUM est un examen qui se sert de radiographies pour voir ce qui se passe quand votre enfant urine.
  • Pendant l'examen, votre enfant aura un cathéter urinaire dans son urètre.
  • L'examen peut être inconfortable. Vous pouvez aider votre enfant à être aussi à l'aise que possible en répétant des techniques de relaxation à la maison avant l'examen.

Dawn-Ann Lebarron, MRT(R)
Deborah Kerrigan, RPN

11/10/2009

À l'hôpital SickKids

Les CUM se font au département d’imagerie diagnostique, souvent appelé le département de radiographie. Il est situé au deuxième étage de l’aile de la rue Elm dans la partie ancienne de l’hôpital.

Enregistrez-vous à la réception au comptoir d’accueil de l’unité de GI/GU. Vous trouverez ce comptoir derrière les ascenseurs de l’aile Elm Wing au deuxième étage.

Si vous devez annuler l'examen de votre enfant, veuillez composer le (416) 813-6068. Nous donnerons la place de votre enfant à quelqu’un d’autre, car de nombreux patients attendent pour un rendez-vous

 







www.aboutkidshealth.ca