print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Autism Spectrum Disorder Resource Centre

Dear parent,

This resource centre was created to give you some information about autism spectrum disorder (ASD). It is a concise, hopeful resource for parents to consult after receiving a diagnosis of ASD for their child. Many parents feel overwhelmed when they find out that their child is developing in a different way from other children. Like other parents who are told their child has ASD, you may find that you do not know where to start, what to read, or where to go first.  

We hope this resource centre will help you understand a little more about what you were told during your child’s assessment. We also hope this resource centre will provide you with direction, information, and comfort as you begin to understand what lies ahead for your child and family.

You may have mixed feelings about your child’s diagnosis. You may feel hopeful that the diagnosis will help you get the services and support you need. You may take comfort in knowing that your child and family are not alone. At the same time, you may have concerns about your child and the future. No matter what the diagnosis, it is always important not to lose sight of your child and all the traits that make your child unique.

Sometimes you may feel that your child is getting lost in all the tests and assessments. You may feel that your child’s strengths and abilities are being overlooked, particularly when many of the assessments seem to emphasize your child’s difficulties. Just remember, you know your child best. You know what your child does well and also the areas where your child needs the most help. Hold onto that knowledge as you do your best to help your child thrive.

Sincerely,

Lee Steel and Janice Mulligan

Janice Mulligan MSW, RSW

Radha MacCulloch, MSW

Wendy Roberts MD. FRCPC

Lee Steel

3/9/2009
Related Articles
Autism Spectrum Disorder




Notes:

print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Troubles du spectre autistique

 
Cher parent,

Nous avons créé le présent centre de ressources afin de vous fournir des renseignements sur les troubles du spectre autistique (TSA). Il s’agit d’une ressource concise visant à donner de l’espoir aux parents que l'on peut consulter après avoir reçu un diagnostic de TSA pour leur enfant. Bon nombre de parents se sentent envahis par l’émotion quand ils apprennent que leur enfant se développe d’une façon différente des autres. Comme les autres parents à qui on annonce que leur enfant est atteint d’un TSA, vous pourriez estimer ne pas savoir où commencer, quoi lire et vers qui vous diriger en premier.

Nous souhaitons que ce centre de ressources vous aidera à comprendre un peu mieux ce que l’on vous a dit pendant l’évaluation de votre enfant. Nous espérons aussi que le centre de ressources vous offrira une orientation, de l’information et du confort quand vous commencerez è comprendre ce qui s’en vient pour votre enfant et votre famille.

Vous pourriez avoir des sentiments ambivalents au sujet du diagnostic de votre enfant. Vous pourriez avoir espoir que le diagnostic vous aidera à obtenir les services et le soutien dont vous avez besoin. Le fait de savoir que votre enfant et votre famille ne sont pas seuls pourrait vous réconforter. En même temps, vous pourriez vous préoccuper de votre enfant et de votre avenir. Peu importe le diagnostic, il est toujours important de ne pas perdre de vue votre enfant et tous les traits qui le rendent unique.

Vous pourriez parfois estimer que votre enfant est perdu au milieu en raison du grand nombre de tests et d’évaluations. Vous pourriez estimer que les forces et les capacités de votre enfant ne sont pas prises en compte, surtout si bon nombre d’évaluations semblent mettre l’accent sur les difficultés de votre enfant. N’oubliez pas que c’est vous qui connaissez le mieux votre enfant. Vous savez ce que votre enfant fait bien et ce pour quoi il a le plus besoin d'aide. Fiez-vous à ce que vous savez pendant que vous faites de votre mieux pour aider votre enfant à se développer.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Lee Steel et Janice Mulligan

Janice Mulligan MSW, RSW

Radha MacCulloch, MSW

Wendy Roberts MD. FRCPC

Lee Steel

3/9/2009
Articles associés
Trouble du spectre autistique







www.aboutkidshealth.ca