print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Blood and Marrow Transplant Resource Centre

Girl smiling and father hugging and looking on
How to find what you are looking for

The content in this resource centre has been organized to follow the experience of a child preparing for a blood and marrow transplant (BMT). It helps you understand the steps involved in preparing for a transplant, what happens during the procedure and your child’s experience while in the hospital. This resource centre also talks about the emotional and practical challenges you may face while caring for your child during the transplant. Finally, it discusses many of the possible late effects that may occur after a child receives a BMT.

This material has been developed in collaboration with the health care professionals in the BMT Program at the Hospital for Sick Children as well as other expert professionals from elsewhere.

About Blood and Marrow Transplants

This section begins with a description of the blood, bone marrow and lymphatic system. It then explains how a BMT works, reasons for a transplant and suggests helpful tips when considering BMT as a treatment option for your child. This section also explains the role of each of the members of your child’s BMT health care team.

Preparing for a BMT

This section describes the various steps involved in preparing for both types of BMT: allogeneic and autologous transplants. It explains how stem cell harvesting works, your child’s transplant treatment and what happens during the BMT. It also lists information about the medicines your child may take to prepare for the transplant. 

While Your Child is in Hospital

This section discusses your child’s life in the hospital after his BMT, including how to minimize infection, your child’s daily routine and possible complications that may occur. It also suggests ways on how you can cope and adjust as a family, and deal with food and nutritional issues.

Going Home

This section provides information on caring for your child at home, when he is discharged from the hospital. 

Looking Ahead

This section talks about the potential late effects the transplant may have on your child’s mental and physical development, social activity, and overall quality of life. It also provides a list of helpful books and websites on BMT.

Please remember that this information should only be used as a guide. Every child's situation is unique. If you have specific questions about your own child's care, please speak to your child's doctor.

 




Notes:

print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Greffe de sang et de moelle osseuse

Fillette qui sourit et père qui la serre dans ses brasGirl smiling and father hugging and looking on
Comment trouver ce que vous cherchez

Le contenu de ce centre de documentation suit la progression de la préparation d’un enfant à une greffe de sang et de moelle osseuse (GSM). Il vous aidera à comprendre les étapes impliquées dans la préparation à une greffe, ce qui se passe pendant la greffe, et l’expérience de votre enfant à l’hôpital. Ce centre de documentation traite aussi des difficultés émotionnelles et pratiques auxquelles vous pourriez être confronté pendant que vous prenez soin de votre enfant pendant la greffe. Enfin, il traite des nombreux effets tardifs qui peuvent survenir après qu’un enfant ait reçu une GSM.

Ce centre de documentation a été élaboré en collaboration avec les professionnels de la santé du programme des GSM à l’Hospital for Sick Children ainsi qu’avec d’autres professionnels d’autres établissements.

Au sujet des greffes de sang et de moelle osseuse

Cette section commence par une description du sang, de la moelle osseuse et du système lymphatique. Elle explique ensuite comment fonctionne une GSM et les motifs d’une greffe, et suggère des conseils utiles pour décider si la GSM est une bonne option de traitement pour votre enfant. La section explique aussi le rôle de chacun des membres de l’équipe soignante de GSM de votre enfant.

Se préparer pour une GSM

Cette section traite des diverses étapes pour se préparer à deux types de GSM : allogéniques et autologues. Elle explique comment fonctionne le prélèvement de cellules souches et le traitement de votre enfant, et ce qui se passe pendant la GSM. Elle décrit aussi les médicaments que pourrait prendre votre enfant pour se préparer pour la greffe.

Pendant que votre enfant est hospitalisé

Cette section aborde la vie de votre enfant à l’hôpital après sa GSM, par exemple comment réduire le risque d’infection, une journée-type de votre enfant et les complications qui pourraient survenir. Elle suggère aussi des moyens de gérer la maladie, de s’adapter en famille et de s’adapter aux besoins alimentaires et nutritionnels de l’enfant.

Retour à la maison

Cette section porte sur les soins à domicile de l’enfant, une fois qu’il aura été autorisé à quitter l’hôpital.

Regard vers l’avenir

Cette section traite des effets tardifs potentiels que la greffe peut avoir sur le développement mental et physique de l’enfant, ses activités sociales et sa qualité de vie générale. Elle suggère aussi des livres et des sites Web utiles sur la GSM.

N’oubliez pas cependant que les renseignements que contient la section sont présentés à titre d’information seulement. Si vous avez des questions précises sur les soins de votre enfant, parlez-en à son médecin.

 




Notes: