print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Brain Tumour Resource Centre

How to find what you're looking for

The content in this section has been organized to follow the natural course of a brain tumour, from symptom recognition, to diagnosis, to treatment, to caring for your child during treatment, to long-term outcomes. However, the course of diagnosis and treatment will be different for each child, so your experience may not follow this path exactly. For instance, some children may need surgery before the exact type of brain tumour is diagnosed.

About Brain Tumours

This section begins with a description of the brain and what it does, then describes the signs and symptoms that can be caused by a brain tumour.

Understanding Diagnosis

This section describes the major types of paediatric brain tumour and the various diagnostic procedures that doctors will use to evaluate your child’s condition.

Treatment

This section discusses treatments for each tumour type, including surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation therapy. It provides information on how to help your child prepare for treatment and how to deal with possible side effects.

At Home

This section provides information on caring for your child during outpatient treatment, coping and adjusting as a family, and dealing with learning and nutritional issues.

Looking Ahead

Once treatment is completed, your child will likely return to a more normal life and attend school. This section discusses possible effects of your child's condition and treatment on mental and physical development, social activity, and overall quality of life over the long term.

This material has been developed in close collaboration with the health care professionals of the Paediatric Brain Tumour Program at The Hospital for Sick Children, as well as other expert professionals from the hospital and elsewhere. Parents of children with brain tumours have also made a valuable contribution to the material in this section.

Please remember that this information should only be used as a guide. Every child's situation is unique. If you have specific questions about your own child's care, please speak to your child's doctor.

How does the brain work?

The brain is like a busy city. Each part has different functions and is made up of different types of cells

How do tumours form?

A cell can become abnormal when genes in cells change or are missing

After treatment

The end of treatment is an important milestone or your child and your family.

Eric Bouffet, MD, FRCPC

 

 

9/11/2009




Notes:

Tumeurs cérébrales

Comment trouver ce que vous cherchez

Nous avons organisé le contenu de la présente section de façon à suivre le cours naturel d'une tumeur cérébrale, de la reconnaissance des symptômes, au diagnostic, au traitement, aux soins portés à votre enfant pendant le traitement et aux résultats à long terme. Cependant, le cours du diagnostic et du traitement sera différent pour chaque enfant. Votre expérience pourrait donc ne pas suivre ce cheminement précis. Par exemple, certains enfants pourraient nécessiter une chirurgie avec que le type exact de tumeur ne soit diagnostique.

Au sujet des tumeurs cérébrales

Cette section commence par une description du cerveau et de ce qu’il fait. Vient ensuite une description des signes et des symptômes qu’une tumeur cérébrale peut causer.

Comprendre le diagnostic

Dans cette section, on décrit les principaux types de tumeurs cérébrales pédiatriques et les diverses procédures de diagnostic que les médecins utiliseront pour évaluer votre enfant.

Traitement

Dans cette section, on décrit les traitements de chaque type de tumeur, y compris la chirurgie, la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. On y fournit des renseignements sur la façon d'aider votre enfant à se préparer au traitement et la façon de composer avec les éventuels effets indésirables.

À la maison

Cette section comporte des renseignements sur les soins à porter à votre enfant pendant les soins ambulatoires, sur la façon de composer avec la situation et de s’y ajuster en famille et sur les questions relatives à l’apprentissage et à la nutrition.

Les prochaines années

Après le traitement, votre enfant regagnera probablement une vie normale et ira à l'école. Cette section traite des effets possibles de l'état et du traitement de votre enfant sur son développement mental et physique, son activité sociale et sa qualité de vie générale à long terme.

Ce matériel a été élaboré en étroite collaboration avec les professionnels des soins de santé du Paediatric Brain Tumour Program (programme pédiatrique des tumeurs cérébrales) de l'Hospital for Sick Children, de même que d'autres experts de l'hôpital et d'ailleurs. Les parents d'enfants qui présentent des tumeurs cérébrales ont aussi apporté une contribution utile au matériel de cette section.

N'oubliez pas que vous ne devez vous servir de ces renseignements que comme guide. La situation de chaque enfant est unique. Si vous avez des questions précises sur les soins de votre enfant, veuillez les poser au médecin de votre enfant.

Comment le cerveau fonctionne t-il?

Le cerveau est comme une ville achalandée. Chacune de ses parties a diverses fonctions et est composée de divers types de cellules.

Comment les tumeurs se forment elles?

Une cellule peut devenir anormale certains de ses gènes changent ou sont manquants.

Après le traitement

La fin du traitement est un jalon important pour votre enfant et votre famille.

Eric Bouffet, MD, FRCPC

9/11/2009





www.aboutkidshealth.ca