print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Congenital Heart Conditions Resource Centre

How to find what you are looking for

The content in this section has been organized to follow the natural course of a heart condition, from symptom recognition, to diagnosis, to treatment, to long-term outcomes. This material has been developed in close collaboration with the health care professionals of the Division of Cardiology, as well as other expert professionals from The Hospital for Sick Children and elsewhere. Parents of children with heart conditions have also made a valuable contribution to the material in this section.

About Heart Conditions

The best way to understand what a heart condition means for your child's health is to understand how the heart works. This section also describes signs and symptoms that can be caused by a heart condition, an overview of the tests a doctor may use to help with diagnosis, and a description of the health care professionals who will help care for your child.

Understanding Diagnosis

This section of the site will give you key information about your child's condition to help prepare you to help your child through treatment and over the long term.

Treatment

This section explains the various types of treatments available for different heart conditions. The treatment team will discuss all the options with you in detail so you can make a decision about your child's treatment.

At Home

At this stage, your child will have received some sort of treatment. Now the focus moves to recovery. Depending on your child's condition, this could be a speedy process or it may take some time. This section focuses on questions you may have once your child is at home.

Looking Ahead

At this stage, your child is likely returning to a more normal life. This section, which is organized according to child, youth, and adult issues, aims to answer some of the questions you may have about what life will be like for your child, in the immediate future and for the longer term.

How does the heart work?  

With each beat, the heart pumps blood through the arteries and veins. This brings oxygen and nutrients to the body

What are congenital defects?

Congenital heart defects, or lesions, are parts of the heart that have not formed properly

Genetics and heart conditions

Sometimes heart conditions are inherited and sometimes they develop spontaneously. Understanding genetics can help you understand each of these processes.

Please remember that this information should only be used as a guide. Every child's situation is unique. If you have specific questions about your own child's care, please speak to your child's doctor.

1/15/2010




Notes:

Anomalies cardiaques congénitales

Comment trouver ce que vous cherchez

À la manière dont il est présenté, le contenu de cette section suit le cours naturel d’une cardiopathie, depuis l’identification des symptômes jusqu’aux conséquences à long terme, en passant par le diagnostic et le traitement. Ces pages ont été élaborées en étroite collaboration avec les professionnels de la santé de la Division de Cardiologie et d’autres experts du Hospital for Sick Children et d’ailleurs. Les parents d’enfants atteints de cardiopathie ont également apporté de précieuses contributions au contenu de cette section.

À propos des cardiopathies

Pour bien mesurer les effets de la cardiopathie sur la santé de votre enfant, vous devez comprendre comment le cœur fonctionne. Cette section précise les signes et des symptômes d’une cardiopathie, donne un aperçu des tests que le médecin utilise pour poser un diagnostic et présente les professionnels de la santé qui s’occuperont de votre enfant.

Comprendre le diagnostic

Cette section du site vous fournit des renseignements importants sur l’état de votre enfant, pour vous permettre de l’aider à plus long terme, tout au long de son traitement.

Traitement

L’information contenue dans cette section porte sur les différents types de traitements utilisés pour soigner diverses cardiopathies. L’équipe de soins vous expliquera toutes les options dans le détail, afin que vous puissiez décider en toute clairvoyance du traitement adapté à votre enfant.

À la maison

À ce stade, votre enfant aura reçu un certain type de traitement. L’attention est désormais centrée sur son rétablissement. Selon l’état de votre enfant, il pourrait être rapide ou prendre un peu plus de temps. L’information contenue dans cette section porte sur les questions que vous pourriez vous poser après le retour de votre enfant à la maison.

La voie de l’avenir

À ce stade, votre enfant reprend probablement un rythme de vie normal. À la manière dont il est présenté, le contenu de cette section aborde tour à tour les questions qui se posent durant l’enfance, la jeunesse et l’âge adulte, pour mieux vous renseigner sur la situation que votre enfant vivra, dans l’immédiat et au fil du temps.

Comment fonctionne le coeur?

Avec chaque battement, le cœur pompe le sang dans les artères et les veines. Cela apporte oxygène et nutriments à l'organisme.

En qui consistent les anomalies cardiaques congénitales?

Les anomalies ou lésions cardiaques congénitales sont une partie du coeur qui ne s'est pas formée correctement.

Génétique et maladies cardiaques

Parfois, les troubles cardiaques sont héréditaires, et parfois, ils se développent spontanément. Des connaissances en génétique peuvent vous aider à comprendre chacun de ces processus.

N’oubliez pas que cette information vous est uniquement fournie à titre indicatif. Chaque enfant vit une situation unique. Si vous avez des questions spécifiques au sujet des soins fournis à votre propre enfant, veuillez vous adresser à son médecin traitant.

1/15/2010