Idiopathic Epilepsy

There are a variety of idiopathic epilepsy syndromes. Children with idiopathic epilepsy may have generalized or partial seizures. Many, although not all, idiopathic epilepsy syndromes are benign and the child will eventually grow out of them. Relatives of a child with idiopathic epilepsy often have a history of seizures.

What are other terms for idiopathic epilepsy?

An older term for idiopathic epilepsy is primary epilepsy. The terms “idiopathic epilepsy” and “cryptogenic epilepsy” are sometimes used interchangeably, especially in older books and articles.

What causes idiopathic epilepsy?

By definition, there is no apparent underlying cause of idiopathic epilepsy, such as a structural problem with the brain or a metabolic disorder. It is possible that idiopathic epilepsy is caused by tiny abnormalities at the cellular level. We are now learning that many, although not all, idiopathic epilepsy syndromes have an associated genetic component.

In most cases, the exact way in which epilepsy is inherited is unclear. However, some researchers estimate that genes could account for 70% to 90% of the tendency to develop epilepsy.

What epilepsy syndromes are idiopathic?

Idiopathic epilepsy syndromes include:

  • benign epilepsy of childhood with centrotemporal spikes (BECTS)
  • childhood epilepsy with occipital paroxysms
  • benign neonatal familial convulsions
  • benign neonatal convulsions
  • benign myoclonic epilepsy in infancy
  • childhood absence epilepsy
  • juvenile absence epilepsy
  • juvenile myoclonic epilepsy

How many other children have idiopathic epilepsy?

Idiopathic epilepsy is common; about 30% of childhood epilepsy is idiopathic. Together, idiopathic and cryptogenic epilepsy account for 55% to 75% of cases of childhood epilepsy. It is difficult to be precise, because different researchers define these terms differently.

How is idiopathic epilepsy treated?

Idiopathic epilepsy is treated with anti-epileptic drugs.

What is the outlook for a child with idiopathic epilepsy?

The outlook for a child with idiopathic epilepsy depends on the specific condition and how well the seizures respond to treatment. Several idiopathic epilepsy syndromes, such as childhood absence epilepsy and BECTS, usually go away on their own. With other syndromes, though, the child may need to take anti-epileptic drugs all his life.

Elizabeth J. Donner, MD, FRCPC

2/4/2010


Notes:

print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Épilepsie idiopathique

Il y a divers syndromes d’épilepsie idiopathique. Les enfants atteints d’épilepsie idiopathique peuvent avoir des crises généralisées ou partielles. Un grand nombre des syndromes d’épilepsie idiopathique, mais pas tous, sont bénins et l’enfant finira par s’en débarrasser. Il arrive souvent que des parents d’un enfant atteint d’épilepsie idiopathique aient des antécédents de crises. 

Quels autres termes utilise-t-on pour nommer l’épilepsie idiopathique?

L’épilepsie primaire est un ancien terme pour nommer l’épilepsie idiopathique. Les termes « épilepsie idiopathique » et « épilepsie cryptogénétique »  sont parfois utilisés de façon interchangeable, particulièrement dans les livres et les articles plus anciens.  

Quelles sont les causes de l’épilepsie idiopathique?

Par définition, l’épilepsie idiopathique ne comporte aucune cause sous-jacente apparente, comme un problème de structure du cerveau ou un trouble métabolique. Il est possible que l’épilepsie idiopathique soit causée par de minuscules anormalités au niveau cellulaire. Nous sommes en train d’apprendre que beaucoup de syndromes d’épilepsie idiopathique, mais pas tous, sont liés à un élément génétique.    

Dans la plupart des cas, la façon précise avec laquelle l’épilepsie est héritée n’est pas claire. Cependant, selon certaines recherches, les gènes pourraient, dans 70 % à 90 % des cas, être responsables de la tendance de développer l’épilepsie. 

Quels syndromes épileptiques sont idiopathiques?

Les syndromes d’épilepsie idiopathique comprennent les éléments suivants :

  • épilepsie infantile bénigne à pointes rolandiques (EIBPR);
  • épilepsie infantile bénigne à paroxysmes occipitaux;  
  • convulsions néonatales familiales bénignes; 
  • convulsions néonatales bénignes;  
  • épilepsie myoclonique bénigne du nourrisson;  
  • absence épileptique chez l’enfant; 
  • absence épileptique juvénile; 
  • épilepsie myoclonique juvénile. 

Combien d’enfants sont atteints d’épilepsie idiopathique?

L’épilepsie idiopathique est commune. Environ 30 % des cas d’épilepsie chez les enfants sont des cas d’épilepsie idiopathique. Ensemble, l’épilepsie idiopathique et l’épilepsie cryptogénétique sont responsables de 55 % à 75 % des cas d’épilepsie infantile. Il est difficile d’être précis, puisque différents chercheurs définissent les termes différemment.   

Comment l’épilepsie idiopathique est-elle traitée?

L’épilepsie idiopathique est traitée à l’aide de médicaments antiépileptiques. 

Quelles sont les perspectives pour un enfant atteint d’épilepsie idiopathique?

Les perspectives pour un enfant atteint d’épilepsie idiopathique dépendent de l’état particulier de l’enfant et de la façon dont les crises répondent au traitement. Plusieurs syndromes d’épilepsie idiopathique, comme les absences épileptiques infantiles et l’EIBPR, disparaissent habituellement d’eux-mêmes. Cependant, en ce qui concerne d’autres syndromes, l’enfant pourrait devoir prendre des médicaments antiépileptiques tout au long de sa vie. 

Elizabeth J. Donner, MD, FRCPC

2/4/2010







www.aboutkidshealth.ca