Digestive system, liver and nutritional disorders

This resource centre will help you understand the various complex conditions that can affect the liver, pancreas and gastrointestinal system (esophagus, stomach and intestines). You will be able to find out more about diagnostic procedures, treatment options and how to deal with nutritional challenges. This resource centre was elaborated in collaboration with the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition​ (GHN) at the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids).


​​

Gastrointestinal disorders

Show articles

Gastrointestinal disorders affect the esophagus, stomach and the intestines (guts). These diverse conditions have various causes, signs, and symptoms, and may be chronic (last for a long period of time). Read on to find out more about these disorders.

Inflammatory bowel disease

Show articles

Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) causes chronic inflammation in the gastrointestinal tract. It may cause painful, uncomfortable symptoms that require treatment with medications or special diets. Find out more about IBD in this section.

Liver diseases and transplantation

Show articles

The liver is an organ involved in many processes, such as food processing or waste disposal. Different diseases may cause inflammation or scarring in the liver, and may affect its ability to work properly. A liver transplant may be necessary in extreme cases.

Gastrostomy tube ("G-tube")

Show articles

Gastrostomy tubes (G tubes) may be placed in your child's stomach to help with feeding. Using the G-tube, liquid feeds can be given directly into your child's stomach or small intestine. Learn more about this feeding method in this section.

Pancreas disorders

Show articles

The pancreas belongs to the gastrointestinal system and is located behind the stomach. The pancreas helps digest the food we eat and regulate blood sugar levels. It may cause pain if it becomes inflamed, or cause poor digestion if it does not work properly.

Diagnostic procedures

Show articles

Looking at the organs in the abdomen requires special equipment and procedures. The following information aims to help you better understand the procedure your child will undergo and its purpose, and how to prepare for the procedure.

Medications and vitamins

Show articles

Each gastrointestinal, liver or pancreas disease may be treated with specific medications or diet supplements, such as vitamins. To learn more about your child’s medication or vitamin, read on and talk to your child’s health-care provider or pharmacist.

Nutritional disorders

Coming Soon


 


Notes:

Système digestif, foie et troubles nutritionnels

Ce centre de ressources vous aidera à comprendre les différentes pathologies complexes qui peuvent affecter le foie, le pancréas et le système gastro-intestinal (l’œsophage, l’estomac et les intestins). Vous en apprendrez davantage sur les procédures de diagnostic, les options de traitement et la façon de faire face aux défis nutritionnels. Ce centre de ressources a été élaboré en collaboration avec le service de gastro-entérologie, d’hépatologie et de nutrition​ (GHN) du Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids).


​​

Problèmes gastro-intestinaux

Montrer l'article

Les problèmes gastro-intestinaux nuisent à l’œsophage, à l’estomac et aux intestins. Ces pathologies diverses ont différentes causes, différents signes et symptômes, et peuvent être chroniques (c.-à-d. qu’elles durent longtemps). Lisez la suite pour en savoir plus sur ces troubles.

Maladie intestinale inflammatoire

Montrer l'article

La maladie intestinale inflammatoire (MII) provoque une inflammation chronique du système gastro-intestinal. Elle peut provoquer de l’inconfort et de la douleur et nécessiter la prise de médicaments ou un régime particulier. Pour en savoir plus sur les MII, consultez cette section.

Maladies du foie et transplantation

Montrer l'article

Le foie participe notamment à la transformation des aliments et à l’élimination des déchets. Certaines maladies en provoquent l’inflammation ou des lésions et peuvent modifier sa capacité à fonctionner correctement. Une transplantation du foie peut être nécessaire dans les cas graves.

Tube de gastrostomie (« G-tube »)

Montrer l'article

Les tubes de gastrostomie (G-tubes) peuvent être placés dans l’estomac de votre enfant pour l’aider à s’alimenter. Ainsi, des aliments liquides peuvent être injectés directement dans l’estomac ou l’intestin grêle de votre enfant. Apprenez-en plus sur ce mode d'alimentation en consultant cette section.

Troubles du pancréas

Montrer l'article

Le pancréas fait partie du système gastro-intestinal et est situé derrière l’estomac. Il aide à digérer les aliments et à réguler le taux de sucre dans le sang. Il peut causer de la douleur s’il est enflammé, ou provoquer des troubles de la digestion s’il ne fonctionne pas bien.

Procédures de diagnostic

Montrer l'article

Observer les organes de l’abdomen nécessite un équipement et des procédures particuliers. L’information de cette section a pour but de vous aider à mieux comprendre la procédure dont votre enfant fera l’objet, son but et la façon de vous y préparer.

Médicaments et vitamines

Montrer l'article

Pour en savoir plus sur les médicaments ou les vitamines dont votre enfant a besoin pour traiter le trouble gastro-intestinal, du foie ou du pancréas dont il est atteint, consultez cette section et le fournisseur de soins de santé ou le pharmacien de votre enfant.

Troubles nutritionnels

Disponible prochainement


 





www.aboutkidshealth.ca