print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Leukemia Resource Centre

Girl and boy in hospital bed 
How to find what you are looking for

The content in this resource centre has been organized to follow the natural course of leukemia. It helps you understand symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment.  It also talks about challenges you may face while caring for your child during treatment. Finally, it discusses many of the late-term outcomes of leukemia treatment. This material has been developed in collaboration with the health care professionals in the Haemotology/Oncology department at the Hospital for Sick Children as well as other expert professionals from elsewhere.

About Leukemia

This section begins with a description of the blood, bone marrow and lymphatic system. It then describes the symptoms and subtypes of the two most common forms of childhood leukemia: acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) and acute myeloid leukemia (AML). 

Understanding Diagnosis

This section describes the various diagnostic procedures that doctors will use to evaluate your child’s condition.

Treatment

This section discusses treatments for both ALL and AML, including chemotherapy and radiation therapy. It also talks about whether your child is a candidate for a bone marrow transplant (BMT). 

Living with Leukemia

This section provides information on caring for a child with ALL during outpatient treatment. It also gives information for a child with AML while being treated in the hospital. It suggests how you can cope and adjust as a family, and deal with food and nutritional issues.

After finishing treatment, your child will eventually return to a more normal life and attend school. Children with ALL may return to school while finishing their last phase of treatment. This section discusses possible effects of your child's condition and treatment on mental and physical development, social activity, and overall quality of life over the long term.  It also provides a list of helpful books and websites on leukemia.

Please remember that this information should only be used as a guide. Every child's situation is unique. If you have specific questions about your own child's care, please speak to your child's doctor.

 




Notes:

Leucémie

Fille et garçon dans leur lit d'hôpital
Comment trouver ce que vous cherchez

Le contenu de ce centre de documentation suit la progression naturelle de la leucémie. Vous verrez d’abord les symptômes de la maladie, comment on arrête le diagnostic et en quoi consiste le traitement. Vous verrez aussi quels sont les défis auxquels vous pourriez être confrontés quand viendra le temps de prendre soin de votre enfant pendant le traitement. Enfin, le centre de documentation aborde nombre des résultats à long terme du traitement de la leucémie. Le contenu a été élaboré en collaboration avec les professionnels du département d’hématologie et d’oncologie de l'hôpital pour enfants de Toronto, The Hospital for Sick Children, ainsi qu’avec d’autres experts d’ailleurs.

Au sujet de la leucémie

Cette section commence par une description du sang, de la moelle osseuse et du système lymphatique. Elle décrit ensuite les symptômes et les sous-types des deux formes les plus courantes de la leucémie infantile : la leucémie lymphoblastique aiguë (LLA) et la leucémie myéloblastique aiguë (LMA).

Comprendre le diagnostic

Cette section définit les différentes procédures diagnostiques dont les médecins se serviront pour évaluer l’état de santé de votre enfant.

Traitement

Cette section aborde les traitements de la LLA et de la LMA, y compris la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. Cette section mentionne aussi les critères que votre enfant doit remplir pour recevoir une greffe de moelle osseuse (GMO).

Vivre avec la leucémie

Cette section contient des renseignements sur les soins que recevra un enfant atteint de LLA en tant que patient externe. Elle contient aussi des renseignements sur les soins à l’hôpital d’un enfant atteint de LMA. La section suggère aussi des moyens de composer avec la maladie et de s’y adapter en famille, et traite de questions d’alimentation et de nutrition.

Un regard vers l’avenir pour les survivants de la leucémie

Après qu’il aura fini ses traitements, votre enfant retournera peu à peu à une vie normale et ira à l’école. Les enfants atteints de LLA peuvent retourner à l’école pendant qu’ils achèvent la dernière étape de leur traitement. Cette section traite des effets possibles de la maladie et des traitements de votre enfant sur son développement mental et physique, sa vie sociale et sa qualité de vie en général à long terme. Elle contient aussi une liste de livres et de sites Web utiles sur la leucémie.

N’oubliez pas que ces renseignements ne sont fournis qu’à titre indicatif seulement. La situation de chaque enfant est unique. Si vous avez des questions précises sur les soins de votre enfant, parlez-en à son médecin.

 





www.aboutkidshealth.ca