Treatment of Brain and Behaviour Problems

Brown preemie with pacifier
Except for a few specific conditions, treatment of brain injuries is really a process of trying to prevent further damage, minimize existing damage, and assess the extent of the damage, both in the short- and long-term.

The optimum care of a baby in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU), which includes warmth, nutrition, metabolic stability, proper ventilation, and so on, is aimed at preventing further damage and minimize existing damage. Additional treatments may also be given depending on the injury or condition.

Assessment of damage to the brain is an evaluation of both the injury to the brain itself and an evaluation of the wider implications on the body and mind since brain injury can affect body movement as well as cognitive function. This total assessment is imprecise and, unless an injury is massive or tiny, the long-term effects can only be estimated. Having said that, doctors and other experts are becoming better at making what turn out to be accurate estimates based on improved diagnostic tools such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

In addition, brain injuries are usually complex in the sense that they often have more than one cause. For example, a baby who has been deprived of oxygen may also be subject to seizures. Treatment of one condition may have little impact on the other underlying condition.

More information

Hilary Whyte, MSc, MB, BCh, BAO, MRCPI, FRCPC

10/31/2009


Notes:

print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Traitement des troubles du cerveau et du comportement

Bébé prématuré avec une suce
Mis à part quelques conditions particulières, le traitement des lésions cérébrales est en réalité un processus qui tente de prévenir des lésions éventuelles, de réduire au minimum les dommages existants et d’évaluer l’étendue des dommages à court et à long terme.

Les soins optimaux prodigués au bébé à l’unité néonatale des soins intensifs (UNSI), comme la chaleur, la nutrition, la stabilité métabolique, la ventilation appropriée, etc., visent à prévenir les lésions éventuelles et à réduire au minimum les dommages existants. Il est également possible que l’on effectue des traitements supplémentaires selon la lésion ou la condition.

L’évaluation des dommages au cerveau consiste à évaluer la lésion cérébrale en soi ainsi que les conséquences plus grandes sur le corps et la pensée, puisque la lésion cérébrale peut toucher le mouvement du corps et la fonction cognitive. Cette évaluation totale est imprécise et, à moins que la lésion ne soit massive ou toute petite, on ne peut qu’estimer les effets à long terme. Cela étant dit, les médecins et autres experts sont de plus en plus en mesure de faire des estimations qui se révèlent justes, fondées sur des outils de diagnostic améliorés comme l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM).

De plus, les lésions cérébrales sont habituellement complexes en ce sens qu’elles ont souvent plus d’une cause. Par exemple, un bébé qui a été privé d’oxygène peut également souffrir de crises épileptiques. Le traitement d’une condition peut avoir de légères conséquences sur l’autre affection sous-jacente.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Hilary Whyte, MSc, MB, BCh, BAO, MRCPI, FRCPC

10/31/2009




Notes: