print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Scoliosis Resource Centre for Parents

teen site girl back
How to find what you are looking for

The content in this resource centre has been organized to follow the natural course of scoliosis, from the first signs of a problem, to diagnosis, to treatment, to long-term outcomes. This resource centre is written mainly for the parents of teens who have scoliosis requiring surgery. The material in this section has been written in collaboration with members of the Scoliosis Team at The Hospital for Sick Children.

About Scoliosis

This section helps you understand what scoliosis means for your teen's health. It explains what causes scoliosis and what the condition looks like. It goes through some of the emotional issues your teen might face if she has scoliosis. It also addresses whether scoliosis causes pain and whether it will affect your teen’s heart or lungs.

Understanding Diagnosis

This section of the site contains detailed information about how scoliosis is diagnosed. It goes through the physical exam, and the techniques that are used to diagnose the condition. These include X-rays, CT scans, and MRI. It provides a description of the various health care team members who will care for your teen during and after diagnosis. It also describes the process of informed consent, which is required before your teen will go through any procedure or surgery.

Treatment

This section provides a detailed discussion of the pros and cons of surgery. It goes through the risks and benefits of surgery, and provides a tool to help your teen decide whether surgery is right for her. This section also describes what will happen before, during, and immediately after surgery. There are some frequently asked questions, and some advice on helping your teen cope with surgery.

At Home

This section explains what will happen once your teen is home after the surgery. It goes through the steps to recovery, pain management, your teen’s return to regular activities, and the need for clinic visits. It also discusses some of the complications that may arise after surgery, which you should watch for.

Looking Ahead

This section has information on some of the long-term issues for teens who have chosen to have surgery for their scoliosis, and also for teens who decided not to have surgery. It also goes through some of the research that is going on, to help make scoliosis treatment better in the future.

Please remember that this information should only be used as a guide. Every teen’s situation is unique. If you have specific questions about your own teen's care, please speak to her doctor.

Other parts to this program

If you look to the left hand column of this website, you will see a link to the Teens site. It contains information about scoliosis that your teen will be reviewing. You may wish to look through this information yourself.

6/1/2008




Notes:

Scoliose – Parents

Dos nu d'une adolescente à l'extérieur
Comment trouver ce que vous cherchez

Le contenu du centre de ressources a été organisé en fonction de l’évolution naturelle de la scoliose, soit des premiers signes d’un problème au diagnostic, en passant par le traitement et les effets à long terme. Le centre de ressources est conçu principalement pour les parents d’adolescents dont la scoliose nécessite une opération. Le matériel de cette section a été rédigé en collaboration avec des membres de l’équipe de la scoliose à The Hospital for Sick Children.

Au sujet de la scoliose

Cette section vous aide à comprendre l’effet de la scoliose sur la santé de votre adolescent. Elle explique ce qui cause la scoliose et montre de quoi la maladie a l’air. Elle fait un survol de certains problèmes émotionnels auxquels votre adolescent pourrait être confronté s’il est atteint. Elle porte aussi sur la douleur et la question de savoir si la scoliose touche le cœur ou les poumons de votre adolescent.

Comprendre le diagnostic

Cette section du site contient des renseignements détaillés sur le diagnostic. Elle fait un survol de l’examen physique et des techniques dont on se sert pour diagnostiquer la maladie, y compris les radiographies, le tomodensitogramme et l’IRM. Elle comprend des descriptions des divers membres de l’équipe de soins qui s’occuperont de votre adolescent pendant et après le diagnostic. Elle décrit aussi le processus du consentement éclairé, qu’il est nécessaire d’obtenir avant que votre adolescent ne subisse une procédure ou une opération.

Traitement

Cette section traite en détail des avantages et inconvénients de l’opération. Il passe en revue les risques et les bienfaits de l’opération, et offre des outils à votre adolescent pour l’aider à décider si l’opération lui convient. Cette section décrit aussi ce qui se passe avant, pendant et après l’opération. Il y a une foire aux questions et des conseils pour aider votre adolescent à affronter l’opération.

À la maison

Cette section explique ce qu’il se passe une fois que votre adolescent est revenu à la maison après l’opération. Elle passe en revue les étapes de la convalescence, la gestion de la douleur, le retour aux activités normales et le besoin de visiter la clinique. Elle traite aussi de certaines complications qui peuvent survenir après une opération, qu’il faut surveiller attentivement.

Regard vers l’avenir

Cette section contient des renseignements sur des points à considérer à long terme, à la fois pour les adolescents qui ont été opérés et ceux qui ont décidé de ne pas se faire opérer. Elle jette aussi un œil sur la recherche qui se poursuit pour améliorer les traitements de la scoliose.

Gardez à l’esprit que ces renseignements sont à titre indicatif seulement. La situation de chaque personne est unique. Si vous avez des questions sur les soins de votre adolescent, parlez-en à son médecin.

Autres composantes du programme

Dans la colonne de gauche du site Web se trouve un lien vers le site des adolescents. Le site contient des renseignements sur la scoliose que votre adolescent pourra lire. Vous pourriez vous aussi y jeter un œil.

Dans la barre d’outils au bas de la page, vous trouverez des liens vers d’autres parties du programme, comme un diaporama, d’autres animations, un forum de discussion et des vidéos d’adolescents atteints de scoliose.

6/1/2008





www.aboutkidshealth.ca