Hepatitis B

Liver
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-IMD_liver_EN-UNIQUE2-
The liver is an organ that is part of our digestive system. It helps us get rid of toxins, digest food, and store energy from food.

What is Hepatitis?

Hepatitis B is liver disease caused by a virus.

The liver is an organ in our abdomen (belly). It helps our bodies remove toxins and waste. It also helps us digest food and store the energy we get from food.

The word “hepatitis” means that there is inflammation of the liver. Inflammation of the liver can affect the liver’s ability to work properly. Hepatitis can be caused by infections (virus, bacteria or parasites), drugs or toxins (including alcohol). There are several types of viruses that can cause hepatitis. One of these viruses is the hepatitis B virus. The hepatitis B virus is sometimes referred to as HBV.

How do people get hepatitis B?

People may get the hepatitis B virus if they come in contact with the blood or other bodily fluid of someone who has hepatitis B. The virus then infects the liver.

Here are some ways that children can be infected with the hepatitis B virus:

  • Most children with hepatitis B were born to mothers who are also infected with the virus. The hepatitis B virus is passed to the baby either during pregnancy or delivery. It is possible to lower the risk of infection for the baby by using medicines and vaccination. This is why all pregnant women should be tested for hepatitis B during pregnancy. It is safe for a woman with hepatitis B to breastfeed her child because the virus does not pass through breast milk. However, if a mom has cracked and bleeding nipples, she should discuss breastfeeding with her health-care provider.
  • Very rarely, children can get hepatitis B if they share personal items that may have the blood of someone with hepatitis B on them (such as toothbrushes, nail clippers or razors). The virus on these items may get into the children’s bodies through tiny cuts and openings on the skin.
  • Children can get hepatitis B if they use needles that are contaminated with the hepatitis B virus. This happens when they use the same needles that were already used by someone with hepatitis B. This includes body piercing, tattooing, acupuncture, accidental needle stick injuries or intravenous drug use.
  • The chance that a child can get hepatitis B from blood transfusion or organ transplantation in Canada is extremely small. All blood products and donated organs are tested for hepatitis B infection before they are given to patients. In some other parts of the world, this is a more common problem.
  • Anyone can get hepatitis B by having unprotected sexual contact with someone who has hepatitis B. It is important to know that children with hepatitis B can live normally. Many people live their whole lives with hepatitis B without significant damage to their liver because of the virus.

How easily can hepatitis B be spread to other people?

The risk of getting hepatitis B infection is very low in regular day-to-day activity. If someone in your home has hepatitis B then all other people living there should be immunized against it.

If your child has hepatitis B, they should not share personal items that may have traces of blood on them (toothbrush, nail clippers or razors). Your child should be taught not to let other people touch their blood if they have an accident, and they should not touch the blood of others.

Because the amount of virus in saliva is low, the risk to pass the virus is minimal. It is unnecessary to have two sets of eating utensils or dishes at home. Your child and the rest of the family can safely use the same sets.

There is no risk of passing the virus to others by:

  • breastfeeding, unless you have cracked and bleeding nipples. In this case, discuss the problem with your health-care provider. They may advice you to use breast shields or to stop breastfeeding.
  • sneezing and coughing around other people
  • hugging and kissing

To protect your child’s health and others’, it is important to teach your child about good general health routines such as washing their hands and not touching blood and bodily fluids. It is best to inform your child of their hepatitis B status when they are mature enough to understand the information. Talk to your child before they start to have romantic relationships or be tempted to experiment with alcohol or drugs. Teenagers should be taught about the importance of practicing safe sex, including the use of condoms, to reduce the risk of passing on hepatitis B to others.

Signs and symptoms of hepatitis B

Acute Hepatitis

Many people who become infected with hepatitis B, especially children, do not have any symptoms at the time of infection and never feel sick. Others get a brief illness with fatigue, decreased appetite and their eyes may turn yellow (jaundice).

Chronic Hepatitis

A hepatitis B infection that lasts for more than six months is called chronic hepatitis. Infants and young children infected with hepatitis B have a high likelihood of developing chronic hepatitis. Most teenagers and adults are able to clear the virus on their own and develop life-long protection against it. Almost all children with chronic hepatitis B have no symptoms and grow normally.

Tests for diagnosis and monitoring of hepatitis B

If you or your healthcare provider thinks that your child is at risk for hepatitis B, your child can be tested with blood tests.

Hepatitis B serology

Serology is the study of the blood and its content in particular immune system components. The first test your child will have looks for markers in the blood indicating that they have hepatitis B. The test looks for surface components of the outer “coat” of the hepatitis B virus. These components are called antigens. If this test is positive, this means your child has hepatitis B infection. If it continues to be positive for longer than six months, this means your child has chronic hepatitis B.

Your child may also have a test that looks for the specific reaction of the immune system to the hepatitis B virus. The immune system makes antibodies that recognize the hepatitis B surface antigens. This test measures the protective antibodies that your child developed against the hepatitis B virus. A positive result may mean that your child is immune to the hepatitis B virus, either because they have recovered from a past infection or received the vaccination.

Viral load

A second test may be used to see what amount of hepatitis B virus is present in your child’s blood. This is called the “hepatitis B viral load”.

Liver enzymes

Blood tests called ALT and AST (liver enzymes) tell how active the disease is and other blood tests indicate if the liver is working properly.

Monitoring hepatitis B

Many children have a high viral load because their immune system does not recognize and control the hepatitis B virus. As long as the liver enzymes are normal and your child has regular checkups, a high viral load is common and does not mean your child will be unwell.

High levels of liver enzymes in your child’s blood usually mean that your child’s immune system has recognized the virus and is trying to fight it. The immune system may eventually be able to reduce the amount of hepatitis B virus in the blood. This is good because it means the risk of damage to the liver from scarring because of hepatitis B is reduced.

This inflammation of the liver may go away on its own over a short period of time without causing a reduction in the amount of the virus in the blood. In children where the liver enzymes are high for a long time (six to 12 months) your doctor may recommend treatment to help stop the inflammation in the liver before scarring can develop.

Many people live their whole lives without significant damage to their liver due to hepatitis B. However as people age, the risk of scarring in the liver increases. Mild scarring in the liver does not usually affect the way the liver works. Severe scarring (cirrhosis) may make it difficult for the liver to work properly. Cirrhosis only rarely happens in children with hepatitis B. Chronic hepatitis B infection also increases the risk for liver cancer, especially if it has caused bad liver scarring. Liver cancer is very rare in children with hepatitis B.

It is important that your child have regular medical follow-up throughout life. This allows problems in your child’s liver to be identified and treated early, which may prevent or delay development of liver scarring or cirrhosis and liver cancer.

Treatment for hepatitis B

There is currently no cure for hepatitis B. For chronic hepatitis B there are medications which may reduce the amount of inflammation and/or damage the virus may cause to the liver. If your child’s hepatitis B is chronic and progressing or if there are other health problems, your doctor may recommend medication to treat the hepatitis B infection.

For acute hepatitis B infection, there are no medications. Treatment will help relieve symptoms.

Immunization

As for any illness, the best treatment is prevention. There are very effective vaccines to prevent hepatitis B. In Canada, this vaccine is part of the Routine Immunization Schedule. This means that all children are protected against hepatitis B if they get all their required shots from the doctor or at school. Children and teenagers are immunized at various ages depending on the province in which they live.

When a pregnant woman has hepatitis B, sometimes she needs to take medication to lower her viral load before delivering her baby. When the baby is born, they receive the first dose of the hepatitis B vaccine and another medicine to protect them from the virus. This medicine is called the hepatitis B immune globulin or HBIG. The baby will need at least two additional doses of the hepatitis B vaccine at one month and six months of age.

How to care for your child at home

Many people live their whole lives with hepatitis B but do not experience significant damage to their liver. However, the risk of scarring in the liver increases with age. That is why if your child has chronic hepatitis B, your healthcare provider will see your child regularly.

Who to tell about your child’s hepatitis B status?

It is up to you who you tell about your child’s hepatitis B infection.

You should tell people who look after your child’s general health, like dentists, doctors and nurses.

Sometimes people who work with children, including teachers, sports coaches and other volunteers do not really know about hepatitis B. In some communities there may be a stigma associated with hepatitis B infection. Therefore, you may wish to discuss strategies with your child’s health-care team before you tell others about your child’s hepatitis B infection.

What can I do to help keep my child’s liver healthy?

There are many things that help your child’s liver stay healthy:

  • A healthy diet​ with plenty of fresh vegetables and fruit helps provide antioxidants that protect the liver from the bad effects of inflammation.
  • Regular physical activity when combined with a healthy diet keeps weight under control. Being overweight will often cause extra difficulty for the liver.
  • Be careful with herbal, natural or other alternative or complimentary treatments. Check with your healthcare provider before giving any herbal medications as some of these may be harmful to the liver.
  • Be careful about other medications. Some medications are processed by the liver. If your child needs medication for other health conditions, it is important to follow the instructions carefully. Ask for advice from your healthcare provider or pharmacist.
  • Get immunized against other infectious diseases. There are no benefits from getting immunized against hepatitis B if your child already has it. Your child should have all of the recommended immunizations available and should be immunized against hepatitis A. However, the rest of the family and care-givers should be immunized against hepatitis B.
  • Explain to your child and/or teen why they should avoid alcohol and other types of drugs which may cause damage to the liver.

Key Points

  • Hepatitis B is an infection due to a virus called hepatitis B virus. You can protect yourself and your family from hepatitis B by getting the proper vaccination.
  • Children can get hepatitis B if they come in contact with the blood or bodily fluids of someone who has hepatitis B. This can happen around the time of birth, by having unprotected sexual contact, contact with contaminated needles or, very rarely, by sharing items which may be contaminated with blood (such as toothbrushes, nail clippers and razors).
  • Hepatitis B cannot be spread to other people by hugging, kissing, sneezing, coughing or breastfeeding. However, if you are breastfeeding and have cracked or bleeding nipples, talk to your health-care team.
  • When the infection stays in the body for a long time, this is called chronic hepatitis B. Many children with chronic hepatitis B will not have any symptoms unless they have developed liver damage.
  • If your child has chronic hepatitis, they should be seen by a healthcare provider regularly to monitor their general health and the health of their liver. As your child gets older, your healthcare provider can help to provide teaching for your child about hepatitis B.

Constance O'Connor​​, NP
Simon Ling, MD​

6/2/2014




Notes:

Hépatite B

Foie
Get Adobe Flash player
-UNIQUE1-IMD_liver_FR-UNIQUE2-
Le foie est un organe qui fait partie du système digestif. Il nous aide à nous débarrasser des toxines, à digérer la nourriture et à stocker l’énergie provenant des aliments.

Qu’est-ce que l’hépatite?

L’hépatite B est une maladie du foie​ causée par un virus.

Le foie est un organe dans l’abdomen (le ventre). Il aide l’organisme à se débarrasser des toxines et des déchets. Il nous aide aussi à digérer les aliments et à stocker l’énergie que nous en tirons.

Le terme « hépatite » signifie inflammation du foie. Cette inflammation peut affecter la capacité du foie à remplir correctement sa fonction. L’hépatite peut être provoquée par une infection (virale, bactérienne ou parasitaire), des médicaments ou des toxines (dont l’alcool). Plusieurs types de virus peuvent causer l’hépatite. Le virus de l’hépatite B est l’un d’eux. On l’appelle parfois VHB.

Comment attrape-t-on l’hépatite B?​​​

On peut contracter le virus de l’hépatite B par contact avec le sang ou un autre liquide organique d’une personne qui a l’hépatite B. Le virus infecte alors le foie.

Voici quelques-uns des moyens par lesquels les enfants peuvent être infectés par le virus de l’hépatite B :

  • La plupart des enfants qui ont l’hépatite B sont nés d’une mère elle aussi infectée par le virus. Celui-ci se transmet au bébé pendant la grossesse ou l’accouchement. On peut réduire le risque d’infection en administrant des médicaments et en vaccinant le bébé. C’est la raison pour laquelle toutes les femmes enceintes devraient subir un test de dépistage de l’hépatite B pendant la grossesse. Les femmes qui ont l’hépatite B peuvent allaiter leur enfant sans risque puisque le virus ne se transmet pas par le lait maternel. Cependant, si une maman a les mamelons crevassés et qui saignent, elle doit discuter de l’allaitement avec son fournisseur de soins de santé.
  • Dans de très rares cas, un enfant peut contracter l’hépatite B après avoir utilisé des objets personnels portant des traces du sang d’une personne atteinte de l’hépatite B (par exemple une brosse à dents, un coupe-ongle ou un rasoir). Le virus sur ces objets peut entrer dans l’organisme par de minuscules coupures ou lésions de la peau.
  • Les enfants peuvent contracter l’hépatite B par l’intermédiaire d’une aiguille contaminée. Cela peut se produire en cas de réutilisation d’une aiguille qui a été utilisée sur une personne atteinte de l’hépatite B, par exemple dans le cadre d’une séance de perçage corporel, de tatouage ou d’acupuncture, ou en cas de piqûre accidentelle ou d’injection de drogue par voie intraveineuse.
  • Au Canada, le risque pour un enfant de contracter l’hépatite B à la suite d’une transfusion sanguine ou d’une transplantation d’organe est extrêmement faible. Tous les produits sanguins et les organes des donneurs subissent un test de dépistage de l’hépatite B avant d’être donnés aux patients. Dans d’autres parties du monde, c’est un problème plus courant.
  • Tout le monde peut contracter l’hépatite B en ayant des contacts sexuels non protégés avec une personne atteinte de l’hépatite B. Il faut savoir que les enfants qui ont l’hépatite B peuvent avoir une vie normale. Beaucoup de gens gardent l’hépatite B toute leur vie sans que le virus porte sérieusement atteinte à leur foie.

L’hépatite B se transmet-elle facilement?​​​

Dans le cadre des activités quotidiennes ordinaires, le risque d’une infection par le virus de l’hépatite B est très faible. Si quelqu’un dans votre foyer a l’hépatite B, toutes les autres personnes qui vivent sous le même toit doivent se faire vacciner.

Si votre enfant a l’hépatite B, il ne doit pas échanger d’objets personnels qui pourraient porter des traces de sang (brosse à dents, coupe-ongle ou rasoir). Apprenez à votre enfant à ne laisser personne entrer en contact avec son sang s’il a un accident et à ne pas toucher le sang des autres.

Comme la quantité de virus dans la salive est faible, le risque de transmettre le virus par la salive est minime. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir deux jeux d’ustensiles de table ou de plats à la maison. Votre enfant et le reste de la famille peuvent se servir des mêmes ustensiles en toute sécurité.

Il n’y a pas de risque de transmettre le virus par :​​​

  • l’allaitement, sauf si vous avez les mamelons crevassés et qui saignent. Dans ce cas, discutez-en avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé. Il vous conseillera peut-être d’utiliser des téterelles ou d’arrêter l’allaitement;
  • les éternuements et quintes de toux en présence d’autres personnes;
  • les accolades et les baisers.

Pour protéger sa santé et celle des autres, il est important d’enseigner à votre enfant les bonnes habitudes générales en matière de santé, par exemple se laver les mains et ne pas toucher le sang et les liquides organiques. Il est préférable d’informer votre enfant qu’il a l’hépatite B quand il a la maturité suffisante pour comprendre l’information. Parlez à votre enfant avant qu’il commence à avoir des relations amoureuses ou qu’il soit tenté d’essayer l’alcool ou les drogues. Il faut enseigner aux adolescents qu’il est important d’avoir des pratiques sexuelles sans risque et d’utiliser des préservatifs pour réduire le risque de transmission de l’hépatite B.

Signes et symptômes de l’hépatite B​​​

Hépatite aiguë​​​

Parmi les personnes infectées par le virus de l’hépatite B, beaucoup, en particulier parmi les enfants, n’ont aucun symptôme au moment de l’infection et ne se sentent jamais malades. Chez d’autres, la maladie est de courte durée et s’accompagne de fatigue, d’une perte d’appétit et parfois d’une jaunisse (yeux jaunes).

Hépatite chronique

Une infection par le virus de l’hépatite B qui dure plus de six mois est appelée hépatite chronique. Les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants infectés par le virus de l’hépatite B ont un risque élevé de développer une hépatite chronique. La plupart des adolescents et des adultes sont en mesure d’éliminer le virus par leurs propres moyens et de développer une protection contre lui pour le reste de leur vie. À de rares exceptions près, les enfants qui ont une hépatite B chronique n’ont aucun symptôme et grandissent normalement.

Tests de diagnostic et de suivi de l’hépatite B​​​

Si vous ou votre fournisseur de soins de santé pensez que votre enfant est à risque, il peut subir des analyses sanguines de dépistage de l’hépatite B.

Sérologie de l’hépatite B

La sérologie est l’étude du sang et de sa teneur en composants déterminés du système immunitaire. La première analyse que subira votre enfant visera à déterminer la présence de marqueurs de l’hépatite B dans le sang. Elle porte sur certaines substances à la surface de l’enveloppe externe du virus de l’hépatite B. Ces substances sont appelées des antigènes. Si cette analyse est positive, votre enfant a une infection par le virus de l’hépatite B. Si l’analyse reste positive pendant plus de six mois, il a une hépatite B chronique.

Votre enfant pourrait également subir un test pour déterminer la présence de la réaction spécifique du système immunitaire au virus de l’hépatite B. Le système immunitaire produit des anticorps dirigés contre l’antigène de surface de l’hépatite B. ​Ce test mesure les anticorps protecteurs produits par l’enfant contre le virus de l’hépatite B. Un résultat positif signifie que votre enfant est immunisé contre le virus de l’hépatite B, soit parce qu’il s’est rétabli d’une infection passée, soit parce qu’il a été vacciné.

Charge virale

Un deuxième test peut être pratiqué pour déterminer la quantité de virus de l’hépatite B dans le sang de l’enfant, c’est-à-dire la « charge virale de l’hépatite B ».

Enzymes hépatiques

L’analyse des ALAT et ASAT (enzymes hépatiques) dans le sang révèle le degré d’activité de la maladie et d’autres analyses sanguines indiquent si le foie remplit normalement sa fonction.

Suivi de l’hépatite B

Beaucoup d’enfants ont une charge virale élevée parce que leur système immunitaire ne reconnaît pas et ne contrôle pas le virus de l’hépatite B. Tant que les enzymes hépatiques sont normales et que l’enfant bénéficie d’un suivi régulier, une charge virale élevée n’a rien d’exceptionnel et ne signifie pas que l’enfant va avoir des symptômes.

Des taux élevés d’enzymes hépatiques dans le sang signifient en général que le système immunitaire de l’enfant a reconnu le virus et tente de le combattre. À terme, le système immunitaire pourrait être capable de réduire la quantité de virus de l’hépatite B dans le sang. C’est souhaitable, car le risque de dommage hépatique lié à la fibrose due à l’hépatite B est alors plus faible.

Cette inflammation du foie peut disparaître rapidement d’elle-même sans qu’il y ait une réduction de la quantité de virus dans le sang. Si les taux d’enzymes hépatiques restent longtemps élevés (6 à 12 mois), le médecin peut recommander un traitement pour arrêter l’inflammation dans le foie avant que la fibrose ne puisse se développer.

Beaucoup de gens gardent l’hépatite B toute leur vie sans jamais subir de dommage important au foie. Cependant, le risque de fibrose hépatique augmente avec l’âge. En général, une fibrose légère du foie est sans effet sur la fonction hépatique. Une fibrose aiguë (cirrhose) peut nuire au bon fonctionnement du foie. La cirrhose est rare chez les enfants qui ont l’hépatite B. L’infection chronique par le virus de l’hépatite B augmente également le risque de cancer du foie, surtout si elle a entraîné une fibrose hépatique avancée. Le cancer du foie est très rare chez les enfants qui ont l’hépatite B.

Il est important que votre enfant bénéficie toute sa vie d’un suivi médical régulier. Ainsi, les problèmes hépatiques seront détectés et traités à un stade précoce, ce qui pourrait prévenir ou retarder le développement d’une fibrose hépatique, d’une cirrhose ou d’un cancer du foie.

Traitement de l’hépatite B

Actuellement, l’hépatite B est incurable. En cas d’hépatite B chronique, il existe des médicaments pour réduire l’inflammation ou les dommages que le virus peut causer au foie. Si l’hépatite B est chronique et qu’elle progresse ou si votre enfant a d’autres problèmes de santé, votre médecin vous recommandera peut-être un traitement médicamenteux contre l’infection par le virus de l’hépatite B. Il n’existe aucun médicament contre l’infection aiguë par le virus de l’hépatite B. Le traitement aidera à soulager les symptômes.

Vaccination

Comme pour n’importe quelle maladie, le meilleur traitement est la prévention. Il existe des vaccins très efficaces pour prévenir l’hépatite B. Au Canada, ce vaccin fait partie du calendrier de vaccinations de base. Autrement dit, tous les enfants qui reçoivent tous les vaccins obligatoires administrés par un médecin ou à l’école sont protégés contre l’hépatite B. Les enfants et les adolescents sont vaccinés à des âges différents selon la province dans laquelle ils vivent.

Quand une femme enceinte a l’hépatite B, elle doit parfois prendre des médicaments pour abaisser sa charge virale avant l’accouchement. À la naissance, le bébé reçoit la première dose de vaccin contre l’hépatite B et un autre médicament pour le protéger contre le virus. Ce médicament est appelé immunoglobuline contre l’hépatite B ou IgHB. Le bébé aura besoin d’au moins deux autres doses de vaccin contre l’hépatite B, à un mois et à six mois.

Comment prendre soin de votre enfant à la maison

Beaucoup de gens gardent l’hépatite B toute leur vie sans subir de dommage important au foie. Cependant, le risque de fibrose hépatique augmente avec l’âge. Par conséquent, si votre enfant a une hépatite B chronique, votre fournisseur de soins de santé l’examinera régulièrement.

Qui mettre au courant de l’hépatite B de votre enfant?

C’est à vous de décider à qui vous voulez parler de l’infection de votre enfant par le virus de l’hépatite B.

Vous devriez en informer les personnes qui s’occupent de l’état de santé général de l’enfant, par exemple les dentistes, les médecins et les infirmiers.

Il arrive que les gens qui travaillent avec les enfants, entre autres les enseignants, les entraîneurs et d’autres bénévoles, ne connaissent pas vraiment l’hépatite B. Dans certaines communautés, l’infection par le virus de l’hépatite B pourrait être stigmatisée. Par conséquent, il peut être bon de discuter d’une stratégie avec l’équipe de soins de santé de votre enfant avant de parler à d’autres personnes de l’infection de celui-ci par le virus de l’hépatite B.

Que puis-je faire pour favoriser la santé du foie de mon enfant?

Beaucoup de choses peuvent contribuer à la santé du foie de l’enfant :

  • Une alimentation saine​ riche en fruits et légumes frais procure des antioxydants qui protègent le foie des effets néfastes de l’inflammation.
  • Une activité physique régulière associée à une alimentation saine permet de conserver un poids sain. L’excès de poids est souvent une difficulté supplémentaire pour le foie.
  • Méfiez-vous des remèdes à base de plantes médicinales, des traitements naturels, des médecines douces et des autres traitements complémentaires. Avant de donner à votre enfant un remède à base de plantes, parlez-en à votre fournisseur de soins de santé. En effet, certains de ces remèdes peuvent être toxiques pour le foie.
  • Faites preuve de la même vigilance avec les autres médicaments. Certains sont métabolisés par le foie. Si votre enfant a besoin de médicaments pour d’autres problèmes de santé, il est important de suivre attentivement les instructions. Demandez conseil à votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou à votre pharmacien.
  • Faites vacciner votre enfant contre d’autres maladies infectieuses. Il n’y a aucun intérêt à faire vacciner contre l’hépatite B un enfant qui a déjà la maladie. Il faut toutefois que l’enfant reçoive tous les vaccins recommandés disponibles et qu’il soit vacciné contre l’hépatite A. En revanche, le reste de la famille et les personnes qui s’occupent de l’enfant doivent se faire vacciner contre l’hépatite B.
  • Expliquez à votre enfant ou adolescent la raison pour laquelle il doit éviter l’alcool et les autres types de substances susceptibles de porter atteinte au foie.

À retenir

  • L’hépatite B est une infection causée par un virus, le virus de l’hépatite B. Vous pouvez vous protéger et protéger votre famille contre l’hépatite B en vous faisant vacciner.
  • Un enfant peut attraper l’hépatite B par contact avec le sang ou un liquide organique d’une personne qui a l’hépatite B. Cela peut se produire à la naissance, par contact sexuel non protégé, par contact avec une aiguille contaminée ou, très rarement, en échangeant des objets contaminés par du sang (par exemple une brosse à dents, un coupe-ongle ou un rasoir).
  • L’hépatite B ne se transmet pas par les accolades, les baisers, les éternuements, la toux ni l’allaitement. Toutefois, si vous allaitez et que vous avez les mamelons crevassés ou qui saignent, parlez-en à votre équipe de soins de santé.
  • Quand l’infection reste longtemps dans l’organisme, on parle d’hépatite B chronique. Beaucoup d’enfants qui ont une hépatite B chronique n’auront aucun symptôme tant que le foie n’est pas atteint.
  • Si votre enfant a une hépatite chronique, il doit être examiné régulièrement par un fournisseur de soins de santé qui suivra son état de santé général et la santé de son foie. Quand votre enfant sera plus grand, votre fournisseur de soins de santé pourra vous aider à lui donner des explications au sujet de l’hépatite B.

Constance O'Connor​​, NP
Simon Ling, MD​

7/31/2014







www.aboutkidshealth.ca