Obesity: Medical complications

 

Obesity carries a range of possible medical complications.

Heart disease

Obesity can put children and teens at risk of developing heart disease. This is because a waxy substance called plaque can build up in the arteries, making them narrower. This forces the heart to work harder to pump blood around the body and reduces the flow of blood to the heart muscle.

High blood pressure

Blood pressure is the force of blood pushing through the arteries. The more someone weighs, the more blood they need to transport nutrients around their body. As the volume of blood increases, so does the pressure on artery walls, especially if they are already narrowed through plaque build-up. 

Sleep apnea

Children and teens who are obese may develop sleep apnea and/or other sleep-related breathing disorders.

Diabetes

Obese children and teens are at risk of developing type 2 diabetes because their bodies are less able use insulin to control their blood sugar levels. If not managed properly, diabetes can lead to a range of health problems such as kidney disease and blindness.

Musculoskeletal issues

The extra weight associated with obesity can put a lot of pressure on the joints​, leading to musculoskeletal problems in children and teens.​

Key points

  • Obesity leads to a range of short- and long-term medical complications, including heart disease and high blood pressure.
  • Other complications of obesity include diabetes and joint problems.
​​​

Se​ena Grewal, MD, MSc, FRCP(C)

Robyn Legge, PhD 
Jessica Watts, RN ​
2/2/2016




Notes:

L’obésité: complications médicales

 

​​L’obésité peut engendrer diverses complications médicales.

Les maladies cardiaques

L’obésité peut exposer les enfants et les adolescents à un risque accru de maladie cardiaque. Cela est attribuable à la formation et à l’accumulation éventuelle de la plaque, une substance qui ressemble à de la cire, sur les parois des artères, ce qui les rend plus étroites. Le cœur doit alors travailler plus fort afin de faire circuler le sang partout dans le corps; de plus, l’apport de sang au muscle cardiaque s’en trouve réduit.

L’augmentation de la tension artérielle

La tension artérielle est la force exercée par le sang circulant dans les artères. Plus le poids de l’individu est élevé, plus il faut de sang pour véhiculer les nutriments partout dans l’organisme. Plus le volume de sang requis sera élevé, plus la pression exercée sur les parois des artères sera grande, en particulier si les artères ont été rendues plus étroites en raison de l’accumulation de plaque sur les parois.

L’apnée du sommeil

Les enfants et les adolescents obèses peuvent être atteints d’apnée du sommeil ou d’autres affections respiratoires liées au sommeil.

Le diabète

Les enfants et les adolescents obèses s’exposent également au risque d’un diabète de type 2, car leur organisme est moins capable de métaboliser l’insuline afin de réguler le taux de sucre dans leur sang. En l’absence d’un suivi rigoureux, le diabète peut engendrer d’autres problèmes de santé, notamment la maladie du rein et la cécité.

Problèmes musculosquelettiques

L’excès de poids lié à l’obésité peut accroître de manière importante la pression exercée sur les articulations​, résultant en des problèmes musculosquelettiques chez l’enfant ou l’adolescent touché.

À retenir

  • L’obésité engendre diverses complications médicales à court et à long terme, dont les maladies cardiaques et l’élévation de la tension artérielle.
  • Parmi les autres complications, signalons le diabète et les problèmes articulaires.
Se​ena Grewal, MD, MSc, FRCP(C)
Robyn Legge, PhD 
Jessica Watts, RN ​​
2/2/2016







www.aboutkidshealth.ca