print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus and Pregnancy

Systemic lupus erythematosus, a condition that is often simply referred to as “lupus,” affects many systems of the body. It occurs in one of every 700 people and is more likely to affect black women and women of childbearing age. Pregnancy does not affect the incidence of lupus.

Symptoms of lupus

Lupus is a chronic disease with periods of active disease called “flares,” followed by periods of remission. The main symptom is joint pain. Other symptoms may include mouth ulcers, fever, skin rash, kidney problems, and high blood pressure. Lupus is sometimes difficult to diagnose because the symptoms are vague and vary from person to person. A person may be classified with lupus if she meets four of the following criteria:

  • a butterfly-shaped rash on the cheeks or circular, red areas of skin
  • ulcers in the mouth
  • sun sensitivity
  • arthritis in two or more joints
  • an inflammation of the lungs called pleurisy or an inflammation of the heart called pericarditis
  • seizures, psychosis, or other neurological conditions
  • kidney problems
  • blood disorders
  • immunological disorders as diagnosed through blood tests
  • presence of antinuclear antibody in the blood

Effects of lupus on the pregnant mother

Lupus does not affect the ability to become pregnant, and most women with lupus can have a successful pregnancy. During pregnancy, some women find that their flares get worse, and some find that they improve.

If you have lupus with kidney involvement, there is an increased chance of high blood pressure during pregnancy and a small chance that pregnancy will cause permanent damage to the kidneys.

Effects of lupus on the unborn baby

Pregnant women with lupus are considered high-risk. The risks of pregnancy loss (miscarriage/spontaneous abortion) or premature birth are increased in women who have lupus.

One condition of concern in pregnant women with lupus is the possibility of the baby developing a heart condition called congenital heart block. Congenital heart block causes the baby’s heart to beat about 40 to 60 times per minute instead of the normal 110 to 160 times per minute. If the unborn baby is diagnosed with congenital heart block, there may be other heart defects. Therefore, the unborn baby will need a kind of heart ultrasound, called a fetal echocardiogram, to check for these abnormalities. The baby will also be monitored by ultrasound every one or two weeks.

There is also an increased risk that the unborn baby may develop a swelling called hydrops. This is a sign that the baby may be having congestive heart failure. If this happens, you and the unborn baby will need to monitored in hospital and the baby may need to be delivered prematurely. Your risk of having a baby with heart problems is greater if you are producing certain types of antibodies.

Treatment of lupus in pregnancy

Although lupus is considered high-risk in pregnancy, careful monitoring by your obstetrician, in conjunction with a rheumatologist, should result in a safe pregnancy and a healthy baby.

Ideally, you should consult your doctor before you start trying to become pregnant. The timing of conception is important and pregnancy usually goes more smoothly if conception occurs during a long remission. Before you become pregnant, you should be tested for certain antibodies and a 24-hour urine test will be required. Your doctor will discuss the results with you and determine what impact they might have on your pregnancy. You should also discuss the medications you are taking. You may need to take new medications during pregnancy.

You should have an ultrasound within the first 12 weeks of pregnancy, or as soon as possible if you find out you are pregnant after 12 weeks gestation. More ultrasounds can be held every four to six weeks to assess the growth of the developing baby. Your medical visits and laboratory tests will be more frequent than the average pregnant woman. You may need more 24-hour urine testing to monitor your kidney function. You might also need non-stress testing, where a fetal monitor is used to assess the baby’s heart rate.

Childbirth is usually normal in women with lupus, unless the baby has fetal growth restriction or the mother has high blood pressure.

For more information, see "Lupus" in our Health A-Z.

9/11/2009




Notes:

print article
For optimal print results, please use Internet Explorer, Chrome or Safari.

Lupus érythémateux disséminé et grossesse

Le lupus érythémateux disséminé, couramment appelé « lupus », est une maladie qui affecte plusieurs systèmes du corps. Il se déclare chez une personne sur 700, particulièrement les femmes noires et les femmes en âge de procréer. La grossesse n’intervient pas dans l’occurrence du lupus.

Symptômes du lupus

Le lupus est une maladie chronique qui se traduit par des épisodes actifs appelés « éruptions », suivis de périodes de rémission. Il se manifeste principalement par des douleurs articulaires, mais aussi par des aphtes buccaux, de la fièvre, des rougeurs cutanées et de l’hypertension artérielle. Il est parfois difficile de diagnostiquer le lupus car les symptômes sont vagues et varient d’une personne à l’autre. On peut dire qu’une personne est atteinte de lupus lorsqu’elle répond à quatre des critères suivants :

  • des rougeurs en forme de papillons sur les joues ou des plaques circulaires et rougeâtres sur le corps
  • des aphtes buccaux
  • une sensibilité au soleil
  • de l’arthrite à deux articulations ou plus
  • une inflammation des poumons appelée pleurésie ou une inflammation du cœur appelée péricardite
  • des convulsions, une psychose ou d’autres troubles neurologiques
  • des problèmes rénaux
  • des troubles sanguins
  • des troubles immunologiques tels que révélés par les analyses de sang
  • la présence d’un anticorps antinucléaire dans le sang

Effets du lupus sur la femme enceinte

Le lupus ne fait pas obstacle à la grossesse et la plupart des femmes qui en sont atteintes donnent naissance à des bébés en bonne santé. Pendant la grossesse, les éruptions s’aggravent chez certaines femmes, mais s’améliorent chez d’autres.

Si vous souffrez de lupus et que vos reins sont touchés, vous courrez un plus haut risque de faire de l’hypertension pendant votre grossesse, ainsi que le risque, quoique faible, que la grossesse cause des dommages permanents à vos reins.

Effets du lupus sur le bébé en gestation

Les femmes enceintes atteintes de lupus sont à haut risque. Dans leur cas, la probabilité de perdre le bébé (fausse couche/avortement spontané) ou d’accoucher prématurément est plus élevée.

Dans le cas d’une femme enceinte atteinte de lupus, la principale préoccupation est liée à la possibilité que le bébé développe une cardiopathie congénitale appelée blocage cardiaque. Le cas échéant, le rythme cardiaque du bébé oscille entre 40 à 60 battements à la minute, au lieu des 110 à 160 battements par minutes habituels. Si on détecte un blocage cardiaque chez le bébé en gestation, cela peut vouloir dire qu’il souffre d’autres cardiopathies. Par conséquent, une sorte d’échographie du cœur appelée échocardiogramme fœtal est effectuée pour vérifier la présence de ces anomalies. De plus, des échographies sont effectuées Le une fois par semaine ou aux deux semaines pour surveiller le bébé.

Il est également possible que le bébé en gestation développe un œdème appelé anasarque, présageant d’une insuffisance cardiaque congestive potentielle. Le cas échéant, votre bébé en gestation et vous-même serez surveillés en milieu hospitalier et il est possible que vous deviez accoucher prématurément. Le risque que vous donniez naissance à un bébé souffrant de troubles cardiaques est plus élevé si votre corps produit certains types d’anticorps.

Traitement du lupus pendant la grossesse

Bien que le lupus fasse encourir des risques élevés pendant la grossesse, pour autant que vous soyez étroitement surveillée par votre obstétricien et un rhumatologue, vous aurez probablement une grossesse sans danger et un bébé en bonne santé.

L’idéal serait que vous consultiez votre médecin avant de devenir enceinte. Le moment choisi pour la conception est important et la grossesse se déroule généralement bien si la conception a lieu au cours d’une longue rémission. Avant de devenir enceinte, pensez à effectuer des examens de dépistage de certains anticorps ainsi qu’une analyse d’urine de 24 heures. Votre médecin vous expliquera les résultats et déterminera les facteurs pouvant entraver votre grossesse. Vous devriez aussi lui parler des médicaments que vous prenez, car il est possible qu’ils soient modifiés pendant votre grossesse.

Assurez-vous de passer une écographie dans les 12 premières semaines de grossesse, ou dès que possible après que vous connaîtrez votre état. Il est possible qu’on vous prescrive d’autres échographies toutes les quatre ou six semaines pour évaluer la croissance de votre bébé. Les visites médicales et les analyses seront plus fréquentes que celles des autres femmes enceintes. On vous prescrira sans doute une analyse d’urine de 24 heures pour vérifier le fonctionnement de vos reins, ainsi qu’un examen de réactivité fœtale pour mesurer le rythme cardiaque du bébé au moyen d’un moniteur fœtal.

D’ordinaire, les femmes atteintes de lupus accouchent sans difficulté, sauf en cas de restriction de la croissance fœtale chez le bébé, ou d’hypertension artérielle chez la mère.

9/11/2009







www.aboutkidshealth.ca